Mac partition is smaller than hard drive? How to reformat the entire hard drive?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by diablo9333, Mar 11, 2013.

  1. diablo9333 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #1
    Hi. I ran into a problem recently where the finder says my hard drive is smaller than it actually is. I have a 1TB drive but it said I only have 500GB with about 100GB left. I am in the middle of going to fix it and right now I am on my external installation of Mac OS X . I have everything backed up but the partition on Disk Utility is the problem, not the disk. How can I reformat the entire disk including the partion? I tried to get the partition to go to the entire disk but it isn't working. Please help ASAP.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What Mac OS X version do you have?
    Can you make a screenshot of Disk Utility with your internal HDD selected and the Partitions tab and attach it to your next post?
     
  3. diablo9333, Mar 11, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013

    diablo9333 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #3
    Partition screenshot:
    [​IMG]

    Actual hard drive screenshot:
    [​IMG]

    As you can see, big problem.

    Let me know if you can't see the images, because I can't but it might just be me. I didn't include it on the partitions because according to the disk it only has one and it is 999 GB.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Sorry, did not see your reply earlier.
    As for attaching the screenshots, better use the Attachment button, TinyPic or Dropbox, since Postimage.org does not seem to allow hotlinking.
    As for the content, can you please also select the top Macintosh HD part (it should not have that name) and then select the Partitions tab and shoot the screen again?

    Also open Terminal and paste the following code in it:
    Code:
    diskutil list
    Then take a screenshot or copy the results here, like shown below:
    Code:
    simsaladimbambas-MacBook-Pro:~ simsaladimbamba$ diskutil list
    /dev/disk0
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *256.1 GB   disk0
       1:                        EFI                         209.7 MB   disk0s1
       2:                  Apple_HFS Macintosh HD            255.7 GB   disk0s2
    /dev/disk1
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *500.1 GB   disk1
       1:                        EFI                         209.7 MB   disk1s1
       2:                  Apple_HFS In Movement             499.8 GB   disk1s2
    /dev/disk3
       #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
       0:     Apple_partition_scheme                        *17.4 MB    disk3
       1:        Apple_partition_map                         32.3 KB    disk3s1
       2:                  Apple_HFS Flash Player            17.3 MB    disk3s2
    
     
  5. diablo9333 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #5
    I just made it a hell of a lot worse, go figure. Since I had a problem a few weeks ago I have been having more problems than necessary. I got a hold of a copy of iPartition and I am using it to create a new partition map. It is in the middle of fixing what I messed up (I did it once and Mac did not detect it in Disk Utility). Once it is done I will send the information.

    ----------

    I would also like to bring up how my Mac has the fusion drive installed...that is why it is being such a bugger to work with.
     
  6. diablo9333 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #6
    Okay, here it is fixed.

    Entire Hard Drive:
    [​IMG]

    Just the partition:
    [​IMG]

    One thing I noticed while using a few programs to fix the partition problem, was that the SSD side(+ whatever else can't be read) is encrypted. How would one fix this? I never encrypted it myself.

    ----------

    This is what I got for the Diskutil List


    /dev/disk0
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *121.3 GB disk0
    1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
    2: Apple_CoreStorage 121.0 GB disk0s2
    3: Apple_Boot Boot OS X 134.2 MB disk0s3
    4: Apple_HFS 3.6 KB disk0s4
    /dev/disk1
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk1
    1: EFI 209.7 MB disk1s1
    2: Apple_CoreStorage 999.3 GB disk1s2
    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk1s3
    4: Apple_HFS 3.6 KB disk1s4
    /dev/disk2
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: Apple_HFS Untitled *589.5 GB disk2
    /dev/disk3
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk3
    1: EFI 209.7 MB disk3s1
    2: Apple_HFS Time Machine Backups 999.9 GB disk3s2
    /dev/disk4
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *80.0 GB disk4
    1: EFI 209.7 MB disk4s1
    2: Apple_HFS Macintosh HD 79.1 GB disk4s2
    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk4s3
    Jakes-iMac:~ JakeM$

    Please keep in mind that I have my Seagate plugged in for Time Machine Backups and I am using my Mac OS X installed on my external hard drive (hence the 79.1GB drive). The rest is the fusion drive.

    ----------

    Thank you for your time but I fixed it by messing up the whole thing using iPartition. What I did was use it again to add an Apple partition scheme and then disk utility asked me if I wanted to fix the drive. Now I have all of my space back. The only issue is that I now have some random 4kb disk1s4. I will figure out how to get rid of it although it isn't a big deal to me to lose a little space.
     
  7. diablo9333, Mar 11, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013

    diablo9333 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    #7
    Okay so here is the scoop. My computer is up and running but I have this ghost partition. It is the one I mentioned before. The problem is that it doesn't mount and terminal keeps recognizing it my "boot volume" every time I go to erase the volume. Any ideas?

    Update: It appears iPartition for some reason decided to leave a little bit unpartitioned. I went back in, repartitioned, reinstalled and I'm find now.
     

Share This Page