Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

MP 1,1-5,1 Mac Pro 3,1 & FCPX 10.4.7

ianhhh123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 10, 2020
10
0
Hi. I've upgraded a Mac Pro 3,1 to run Catalina (via dosdude1 method with video patch), it works but the graphics are very sticky. So I swapped out the graphics card (ATI HD4870 512mb) for a GTX680 2GB and thought this would let me run FCPX but no, it's made not much difference.

Am I wasting my time, is it impossible for me to get this machine to run the latest FCPX or has anyone else managed this? I want to use it as an extra machine to render proxies, exports, etc overnight but the latest FCPX needs to have Metal to run.

Thanks.

Thanks.
1.png
2.png
3.jpg
 

LordeOurMother

macrumors 6502
Jul 10, 2014
321
66
I said AMD for a reason. This is an Nvidia card. Nvidia cards cannot be properly used in Catalina, and per my understanding there are not workarounds on the Mac Pros (there seem to be some on the Hackintosh side).
 
Comment

ianhhh123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 10, 2020
10
0
Cool, thanks the clarification, that helps. Someone else has suggested a AMD Gigabyte Aorus RX580 - would you recommend anything different?
 
Comment

LordeOurMother

macrumors 6502
Jul 10, 2014
321
66
I'm happy with my 7950 - I don't do video editing or gaming so I'm not super familiar with what the best choices would be. The big thing you want is something metal supported and AMD. The card you were recommended fits those categories. I would also consider the video card's performance for your specific usage, video editing, as well. But in general any recent card should do.

Also consider whether you want to do the pixlas mod or not. I don't feel like doing something like that myself.
 
Comment

ianhhh123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 10, 2020
10
0
Great, thank you, I've got a few ideas to research, appreciate the help👍
 
Comment

joevt

macrumors 68020
Jun 21, 2012
2,057
922
Mojave and later still support NVIDIA Kepler GPUs like the GTX 680 (they have Metal acceleration) but they don't have the type of acceleration that FCP needs.

A newer AMD GPU will require the SSE patch that comes with the Catalina Patcher. I don't know if FCP will work.
 
Comment

Ludacrisvp

macrumors 6502a
May 14, 2008
741
319
Also your final screenshot shows that you used the “legacy video patch” which breaks support for cards that do support metal. Which is why changing to the GTX 680 only helped a little. amd Polaris cards or newer are what macOS wants.
 
Comment

joevt

macrumors 68020
Jun 21, 2012
2,057
922
Also your final screenshot shows that you used the “legacy video patch” which breaks support for cards that do support metal. Which is why changing to the GTX 680 only helped a little. amd Polaris cards or newer are what macOS wants.
I thought that last screenshot looked weird.
To remove the legacy video patch, reinstall Catalina over the partition? It won't remove your apps, docs, and settings.
 
Comment

ianhhh123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 10, 2020
10
0
Yes, the last screenshot shows how when I drag a window it 'ghosts', like the graphics are slow & sticky. I've ordered a AMD Radeon RX580 8GB to try. So to confirm, regarding the legacy video patch - when I get it I should try it and if it doesn't work re-install Catalina? Or do I need to re-install before trying the card?
 
Comment

joevt

macrumors 68020
Jun 21, 2012
2,057
922
Yes, the last screenshot shows how when I drag a window it 'ghosts', like the graphics are slow & sticky. I've ordered a AMD Radeon RX580 8GB to try. So to confirm, regarding the legacy video patch - when I get it I should try it and if it doesn't work re-install Catalina? Or do I need to re-install before trying the card?
GTX 680 should not have those artifacts after you reinstall. You probably need to reinstall for RX580 anyway. Then you can try RX580.
 
Comment

LordeOurMother

macrumors 6502
Jul 10, 2014
321
66
Mojave and later still support NVIDIA Kepler GPUs like the GTX 680 (they have Metal acceleration) but they don't have the type of acceleration that FCP needs.

A newer AMD GPU will require the SSE patch that comes with the Catalina Patcher. I don't know if FCP will work.
My understanding was the Nvidia web drivers stop working at High Sierra, but that could just be « officially ».
 
Comment

Ludacrisvp

macrumors 6502a
May 14, 2008
741
319
My understanding was the Nvidia web drivers stop working at High Sierra, but that could just be « officially ».
Officially and unofficially.
the web drivers Are dead.
only Kepler based nvidia cards work with 10.14+
 
Comment

LordeOurMother

macrumors 6502
Jul 10, 2014
321
66
A RX580 with 8gb RAM is going to be a much better card, particularly since you're video editing, so it might not be all that bad of a choice anyways. The 3,1s are going to be naturally more temperamental than the 5,1s in Mojave, however. I think modern GPUs require SSE 4.2 emulation to run in the 3,1 as well, so performance in FCP could be questionable.

Do report back with how it goes, OP!
 
Comment

ianhhh123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 10, 2020
10
0
Hi. In case anyone else is struggling with this problem, I've installed the AMD RX580 8GB and it works.

At first the machine didn't recognise it and I had a black screen, so I switched back to the previous card, did a clean re-install of Catalina 10.15.6 via Dosdude1. In the post install I applied the patches for 3,1 & double checked the SSE4.2 patch was installed, but I did not install the Video Card Legacy patch (I read there's a conflict with it). I put the RX580 back in and it restarted perfectly. FCPX 10.4.9 is running perfectly and the machine seems glitch free so far.

Thanks to everyone who's helped me with this!👍
 
Comment

farikatik

macrumors newbie
Feb 20, 2019
2
0
Russia
Hello dear friends!



Sorry, I don't speak English well, so I use google translator.

I have 2 MAC computers.

1- macbook 17 сore i7 16Gb

2- MAK PRO 3.1 – 32Gb

I want to prepare a video FINAL CUT SOFT on MACBOOK, and then send the file rendering to the MAC PRO 3.1 COMPRESSOR SOFT

I will have 5 monitors connected to Mac Pro 3.1

90% VIDEO MATERIALS 1080p QUALITY

I have read a lot of information about grandfather mac, but I want to clarify about the video card:

  • I want to install the Catalina mac os, which video card is better to install?:
  • ASUS ROG Radeon RX 580 1411MHz PCI-E 3.0 8192MB 8000MHz 256 bit - Polaris 20 XTX core
  • PowerColor Red Dragon Radeon RX 550 1071MHz PCI-E 3.0 4096MB 6000MHz 128 bit video card - Polaris 20 XTX core
  • PowerColor Red Dragon Radeon RX 580 1350MHz PCI-E 3.0 8192MB 8000MHz 256 bit - Polaris 20 XTX core
  • NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN
SERIES: GeForce 700 GPU ARCHITECTURE: Kepler

GPU MODEL: GK110-400

CUDA CORE: 2688

BASE STOCK FREQUENCY (BOOST): 837 MHz (876 MHz)

MEMORY SPEED: 6 Gbps

MEMORY: 6 Gb GDDR5 (384-bit)

  • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
SERIES: GeForce 700

GPU ARCHITECTURE: Kepler

GPU MODEL: GK104-325

CUDA CORE: 1536

BASE START FREQUENCY (BOOST): 1046 MHz (1085 MHz)

MEMORY SPEED: 7 Gbps

MEMORY: 2 Gb GDDR5 (256-bit)

  • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780
SERIES: GeForce 700

GPU ARCHITECTURE: Kepler

GPU MODEL: GK110-300

CUDA CORE: 2304

BASE STOCK FREQUENCY (BOOST): 863 MHz (900 MHz)

MEMORY SPEED: 6 Gbps

MEMORY: 3 Gb GDDR5 (384-bit)

  • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690
SERIES: GeForce 600

GPU ARCHITECTURE: Kepler

GPU MODEL: 2 × GK104-400

BASE STOCK FREQUENCY (BOOST): 915 MHz (1019 MHz)

MEMORY SPEED: 6 Gbps

MEMORY: 4 Gb GDDR5 (512-bit)


Many Thanks!
photo_2020-09-09 22.29.10.jpeg
photo_2020-09-09 22.29.02.jpeg
photo_2020-09-09 22.29.18.jpeg
 
Comment

jngphoto

macrumors member
Jan 21, 2009
35
3
Hi. In case anyone else is struggling with this problem, I've installed the AMD RX580 8GB and it works.

At first the machine didn't recognise it and I had a black screen, so I switched back to the previous card, did a clean re-install of Catalina 10.15.6 via Dosdude1. In the post install I applied the patches for 3,1 & double checked the SSE4.2 patch was installed, but I did not install the Video Card Legacy patch (I read there's a conflict with it). I put the RX580 back in and it restarted perfectly. FCPX 10.4.9 is running perfectly and the machine seems glitch free so far.

Thanks to everyone who's helped me with this!👍
Hi, I'm trying to upgrade my 3,1 to run FCPX too. How are you powering the RX580? I read additional power is recommended.
 
Comment

ianhhh123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 10, 2020
10
0
Hi. I think I bought a different cable to connect it to the Mac:


I'm not 100% sure so please do some more research - i'm away from the Mac for a few weeks but when I get back I can check for you.
 
Comment

jngphoto

macrumors member
Jan 21, 2009
35
3
Hi. I think I bought a different cable to connect it to the Mac:


I'm not 100% sure so please do some more research - i'm away from the Mac for a few weeks but when I get back I can check for you.
Ok, it looks like you just used proper cables. I also have a GTX 680 and might upgrade to the AMD RX 580. Don't they use the same cable?
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.