MAC Pro (early 2008) vs LG 34UM95 Ultrawide monitor

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by 33Ledjent33, Sep 11, 2015.

  1. 33Ledjent33, Sep 11, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2015

    33Ledjent33 macrumors newbie

    33Ledjent33

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    #1
    Hello.

    I am planing to get this monitor, but before I am more than sure that I need to upgrade the GPU in the first place.

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1040788-REG/lg_electronics_34um95_34_ultrawide_qhd_led.html

    I made a thread about the graphic card before, but It would be probably better if people will see the title with the monitor.

    So what do you think I need to get in order to drive the 3440x1440 resolution without any issues?

    Gaming? hmm maybe sometimes, but I am mainly working with DAWs to record and produce music so I am absolutely in love with that monitor!

    So far i am thinking about GTX 970. Amazing quality for even better price.

    Is it possible to also somehow get the bootscreen?

    Btw my Mac Pro is (early 2008) 2.8 Ghz 8 - core Xeon.
     
  2. DucatiTerminator macrumors member

    DucatiTerminator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    #2
    I have one of these for another application, but I could try connecting it to my 3,1 to see if it works (stock 8800 GT card and also a GT120).

    I have a GTX 980 which I have successfully installed in the 3,1 (currently uninstalled -- thinking of moving to one of my 5,1's). I don't need the bootscreen, but it would be nice to have so i'll probably send it to macvidcards.com to be flashed.
     
  3. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    PC GTX 680 is convenient because you can easily flash it yourself for boot screens and there is decent driver support in OS X.

    GTX 970 is faster, more efficient, and more capable of course, but you won't get boot screens unless you buy one from MVC or have him flash yours. Also there are no Apple-supplied drivers in OS X, so you have to use Nvidia's web drivers, and there are hoops to jump through every time there is an OS update, even a small one.

    Are you sure you need to upgrade GPUs? I don't think that will have any effect on DAW music production, although I admit my ignorance about that field.
     
  4. 33Ledjent33 thread starter macrumors newbie

    33Ledjent33

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    #4
    Yea, I've heard about GTX 680 but it's hard to get one in UK and if so it's more expensive than 970 (i really don;t know why)

    Thanks for the info about drivers man! ;)

    Ah yea of course you don't need, but atm I have the stock ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256 MB with really weak colour depth and I am sure that this card won't drive such powerful monitor like LG34um95.

    See for the DAWs like Cubase, Pro Tools it is nice to have more visual space on your screen. It's handy to have the mixer window in front of you, time line, virtual instrument interfaces and other plugins at once. I am working with bigger projects now and it is just for my comfort :) But like I said I would like to play some games sometimes and enjoy the graphic I've never experience in my life ;)
     
  5. 33Ledjent33 thread starter macrumors newbie

    33Ledjent33

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    #5
    Ahh man If you have a time and you really want to do that I will appreciate it very much!
     
  6. vetruvian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    #6
     
  7. vetruvian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    #7
    I just picked up the same monitor for my Macbook Pro and it is amazing. I was considering dual cinema displays. I can tell you that without a doubt, this is the best monitor I have every used, and way better than dual monitors. None of this really helps you answer your original post. I mainly wanted to let you know about the deal I got on it at Micro Center. They have it on sale for $599.99. Brand new, factory-sealed. Their website has a different price, so if there is a location near you, I'd stop in and inquire.
     
  8. 33Ledjent33 thread starter macrumors newbie

    33Ledjent33

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    #8
    Thank you for the respond! 600 bucks sounds like a great deal, but unfortunately I live in the UK and micro center is US only ;(
     
  9. mdindestin, Sep 11, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2015

    mdindestin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
    #9
    You're not going to have any problem. I found this review on B&H from an LA video editor:

    ...the picture quality is drop dead gorgeous. I have a legacy Mac Pro 1.1 connected to the LG via the ATI Radeon HD 4870 graphics card...and use an Accel mini-display to DisplayPort 1.2 adaptor cable that preserves the 3440 x 1440 resolution at 60 Hz.

    Personally, I was considering a 4K Dell 27", glad you turned me on to this monitor.
     
  10. jwpoof macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    #10
    I posted this in a thread for this monitor in the accessories forum. However, because I am specifically having problems with it using a Mac Pro, I thought I'd add it here:

    I just want to weigh in about my experience with this monitor. I purchased it in September 2014 for use with a 2013 nmp. Other than the well-documented issues with sleep mode and getting it to recognize signal on some power-ups, it served me well in a professional full-time capacity until this past week.

    I am now getting flicker, random dropouts to black, and visual "glitches" on-screen. I have swapped out the thunderbolt cable with a brand new one but the problems persist.

    I contacted LG but it's out of warranty. Hilariously, the support person told me they have many complaints about flickering with macs. His advice included both switching to HDMI (30 hz, useless for my purposes) or using it with a PC. I currently have no plans to switch my entire business over to PC in order to make an LG monitor that was advertised for use with the new mac pro work properly.

    I have found all of these problems disappear if I switch to 30z mode while still connected via Thunderbolt.

    Obviously my problems don't mean that these monitors are necessarily bad, but I'm pretty disappointed that an $1100 (at the time) monitor has broken down 16 months into its life. I have owned many IPS monitors prior to this, and this is the first time I have ever had problems with one less than 5 years into its lifespan.
     
  11. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #11
    Try using regular MDP to the DisplayPort input.

    You can't use the TB dock function this way but it would separate the Display signal from the TB bus.

    If it doesn't have USB 3 ports the TB function isn't buying you much anyway.

    The behavior you describe is similar to a bad cable or connection.
     

Share This Page