Mac Pro Graphics Options

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rjheys, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. rjheys macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #1
    I am soon getting a mac pro and I need two graphics cards for three screens, on the Apple Online Store you can build to order 2,3 or 4 ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256MB cards but only one NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB card. Would it be possible to get the 8800 GT and then also purchase the NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT Graphics Upgrade Kit for Mac and have two of them installed? I would prefer these cards to the ATI ones but is it possible to do this, Just because Apple doesn't have it as a BTO option is it still a viable idea?
     
  2. kornyboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN (USA)
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    Yes, you can buy the kit and install the card yourself. It is about $275 from the online store.
     
  3. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    You could also buy the base model, and add in two 3870's. Cheaper, and they do better at Core Image. The only niggle might be the cooling fan. Some users have complained that they're loud. 3rd party passive coolers are available though, and IIRC, added in, would still be less $$$ than the 8800 Apple sells.

    If you're willing, another possibility exists. Buy 2 PC versions of the 8800 that have a 128KB ROM, and flash it.

    There's threads on both the cooler and about flashing the 8800.
     
  4. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #4
    Remember Nvidia SLI is not supported on the Mac Pro at all! (not even in bootcamp windows)


    I would get the 3870's, the fan issue is because of defective cards, mine is quiet. (crossfire will work in bootcamp)
     
  5. sidewinder macrumors 68020

    sidewinder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    Where is the best place to buy a 3870 for a Mac Pro these days?

    S-
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I'd have to say OWC unless you can find a flashed one.
     
  7. ndriver182 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #8
    What kind of performance could you expect out of 2x 3870's in Windows? I just got my 8-core 2.8 (only 2 gigs ram though for now), but just have the stock video. I've got games ranging from old school (Jedi Knight 2) to Age of Empires 3, FEAR, Far Cry, etc. I am not necessarily worried about running MAX settings at an ultra high resolution, but I my stock card will likely choke bigtime on some of these games.
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    You're not going to need 3870s in Crossfire for that...

    I'm going to strongly suggest waiting for the HD48xx. The leap for the price over the HD38xx puts the older architecture to shame.
     

Share This Page