MP 1,1-5,1 Mac Pro won’t boot

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by changareth, Aug 2, 2019.

  1. changareth, Aug 2, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2019

    changareth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    #1
    I have a 2010 2.8ghz quad core Mac Pro and now when I switch it on the computer turns off after like 3 secs itself. Sometimes it stays on but I get a black screen with no chime nor anything else.. nothing happens. I already changed a new power supply and even bought a Radeon 580 sapphire pulse for it. Still the same... I can’t find out what the problem is..
    What else can it be..?

    When boot up the display card fan switches on running then after a while it stops. Is that normal?

    I don’t even see the infrared light under mouse going on so I assume it’s not booting or something. I do feel the hard drive is running tho.
     
  2. tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #2
    You probably have a brick, as in a corrupted BootROM/SPI flash. Download the Apple Technician Guide for your 2010 Mac Pro, go to the part of the Minimum Configuration Testing and check the diagnostic LEDs, around page 28 to 33 if I remember correctly.

    See what LEDs are lit and what are off, then follow the diagnostic steps that Apple suggest.

    With your described symptoms, my bet is that your EFI DONE diagnostic LED is off and you have a brick.

    GPU defects can make a Mac to not boot in a way that is very similar to a brick, check with another know working GPU before trying to desolder/reprogram the SPI flash or buying replacement backplanes/Mac Pro MATT card.
     
  3. changareth thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    #3
    sounding complicated already.
    May I ask what would cause this brick ? Or u mentioned some bottom flash problem? Coz I didn’t do anything to the computer besides putting it away in storage for few months. Before that it works fine.

    When I take 2 rams out and leave 2x2gb ram inside the computer stays on but nothing happens. When 4 rams are in then it automatically turns off after 3 sec.. just stuck
     
  4. tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #4
    Take your time, follow the diagnostic process and find the real problem. Mac Pros have on board diagnostic system for this type of situation, learn to use it.
     
  5. changareth thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    #5
    I swapped in my friends Mac Pro Tray into my Mac and it booted. So I guess my tray is done.
     
  6. tsialex macrumors 603

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #6
    It's a lot easier to replace the CPU tray than a backplane and it's the cheapest repair, a 2010 single CPU tray can be bought for around $50 on eBay.
     

Share This Page

5 August 2, 2019