MacBook Air 11" owners, is it practical to get an iPad on top of your lineup?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by anthro, Mar 7, 2011.

1. anthro macrumors newbie

I have an 11" MBA, which is very very mobile. The footprint is so close to the first iPad that I think you can carry with you an MBA every time you can carry an iPad. The iPad 2's case could be different, though. With a thinner and lighter profile, it can make a little more sense to own a tablet.

I'm not yet completely convinced, though. Money isn't that disposable for me (and probably for many others) so I want to make sure the purchase will justify the cost.

iPad 2 will offer greater intimacy during content consumption, new apps that can only be experienced with touchscreens, a slightly (?) smaller footprint, etc; but do those benefits justify the huge overlap between the tablet and the ultramobile razorsharp 11" Macintosh? I know, at the end of the day, it will boil down to my willingness and ability to spend, but I'd like to hear your thoughts.

2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

Mitthrawnuruodo

I got myself an iPad last year, thinking it would complement my (aging) MacBook for home use (surfing and stuff from the coach).

Then my MacBook died on me and I replaced it with an 11" MBA, and since then I have to admit I've not used the iPad as much as I intended/hoped for… the MBA is just so much better at 99% of what I do that the iPad is dusting down at the night stand, and is just occasionally used for watching a movie/TV show (over Airplay) or checking mail/light surfing without getting out of bed.

And I don't really travel with any of the two, either, the iPhone 4 is usually enough whenever I'm away from home…

3. ovrlrd macrumors 65816

ovrlrd