MacBook HDD 111GB Instead Of 120GB? Also Considering New HDD

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by northy124, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. northy124 macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #1
    Hey

    I have a MacBook MB062B/A (November model I think) with a 120GB HDD but it reads as 111GB why have I corrupted some of it surely the OS doesn't take 9GB does it?

    Anyway I'm considering a new HDD something in the 500GB area if I can get it that big so any suggestions would be great as well so if you know a good make/model please say (I'm UK BTW).

    I think that is all so thanks in advance for any help,

    Northy.
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    120GB sold is the capacity as 120,000,000,000 Bytes. But the computer reads in binary and when it gets to the 120 billion, it converts the GB into binary which comes out in 111GB.

    500GB drive: Samsung M6 500GB -- SAMSUNG HM500LI
     
  3. BoyBach macrumors 68040

    BoyBach

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Location:
    UK
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Yes... it does... All HDD manufacturers use the 1TB=1000GB idea rather than how software sees space (1TB=1024GB), thus you have a smaller HDD than what you "pay" for.

    But the OS is huge. Snow Leopard fixes that, though. It's about 50% of Leopard's size.
     
  5. Mindflux macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #5
    The whole "a gigabyte is not a gigabyte" thing with hard disk manufacturers. Is what you are seeing.

    (Advertised size in GB * 10^9)/1024^3

    120GB=111.72GB, or there about.
     
  6. northy124 thread starter macrumors 68020

    northy124

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #6
    Ah thanks guys for clearing that up.

    I'll look into the Samsung M6 500GB -- Samsung HM500LI Alphaod

    Edit: If I upgrade the HDD should I also upgrade the RAM to 4GB?
     

Share This Page