MacBook Pro 15" 2010 running poorly. Freezing. Taking forever to turn off and on.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by postsanity, May 7, 2011.

1. postsanity macrumors newbie

(I am a graphic designer. My mac mainly is used to run Adobe CS5)

My Macbook Pro, 15" 2010 with OS 10.6.7 is running very poorly. It keeps freezing. I've got a 500gb harddrive and removed all the unneeded programs and files with 429gb free. It freezes when running the simplest programs like Chrome, Safari or even iCal. I've tried repairing and verifying disk permissions. Using OnyX to clean it up. Removing login items. Moving preference files temporaraly. Uninstalling programs I thought were troublesome.

I always keep the software up to date and as far as i've seen, the hardware is fine.

Then thought it could have been the OS so today I tried reinstalling it and am unsure if this is normal or not but when I put the disk in, opened it and tried installing it the installer said there was an error in the disk, which is weird because today was the first day I removed the disk from the packaging since I bought it.

The issues I am having:
    - Turning on takes a ver long time. Far longer then it should. Sometimes it takes a minute or so but other times it may take about 5-15 minutes.
    - Turning off used to be pretty instant. But even with all the Apps closed, it may take about 5 minutes or so and the wallpaper remains on the entire time.
    - The software freezes. When I open new tabs in safari or chrome, sometimes it freezes and the spinning wheel comes up. I can move the mouse around but I cant click anything. It often freezes whilst using Expose and Spaces also. These last from anywhere between 1 to 5 minutes. I've mainly noticed these two when using software that requires an internet connection but that is mainly because I will always have Chrome or Safari open.

Is anyone able to tell me what the problems could be or suggestions on how to fix it.