MacBook Pro 15" Retina - A Good Buy Right Now? Is a Redesigned rMBP Immiment?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jn995, Jul 16, 2015.

?

Is a redesign likely or not? I'll wait if it is.

Poll closed Oct 16, 2015.
  1. Yes, a redesign is likely soon (within next couple of hardware updates)

9 vote(s)
    42.9%
  2. No, not for a while (at least a couple more spec bumps first

12 vote(s)
    57.1%
  1. jn995 macrumors newbie

jn995

I'm a Univeristy student and I have a 2013 MacBook Air. It works fine, it's just hard on my eyes and I'd like some more power if I'm using it as for 6-8 hours a day.

I'm thinking of getting the 15" 2.5GHz, AMD M370 MBP but don't know if it is a good idea. I got the old MBP for work literally just before the retina version came out (which would be my preference).

I don't want to buy the MBP Retina now if the next update is a redesign. I can live without sky lake processors but I'd be rather annoyed if I bought it and the next update sees a new design (like the MacBook Pro to Retina MacBook Pro). I'd rather wait a few months if it meant I could get a redesigned MBP.

My question is, when is a redesign likely and would it be a good idea to get a retina MBP?

I haven't looked into it much but it looks like they might be introducing the new MB and phasing the MBA out and redesigning the retina MBP sometime soon.

2. snaky69 macrumors 603

A current machine will not suddenly become obsolete or less capable if a new one comes out. With the amount of power that needs to be packed in that thin a chassis, I very, very strongly doubt we'll see a new design anytime soon.

I mean the first MBP back in '06 was a carbon copy of the PowerBook's design, that design dates from 2001. The unibody came out in late 2008. It remained virtually unchanged from 2008 through 2012. The rMBP isn't much of a redesign as much as an update. It looks virtually the same, ¼ inch thinner or so, and no CD slot, but that's it.