Macbook Pro 2,6 ghz or Macbook Pro Retina Display 2,3 ghz

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Charlaux, Jun 30, 2012.

1. Charlaux macrumors member

Hi,
    I was reading the reviews of Macbook pro retina display 2,3 ghz.From the review http://http://www.pcworld.com/product/1218250/apple_15inch_macbook_pro_with_retina_display23ghz_core_i7_mid_2012.html%3Fp=review of PC World I was completely stunned by the difference.However when It comes to chart table of the official apple store site things get a little bit confusing :D

It will be my very first macbook and I want to buy the one that is better,from the graphics retina seems perfectly fine.While looking to my computer which I have for 4 years,I totally used 109 gb /213 gb and I am not a professional just a regular teen who loves playing games.I do not like war games but like The Sims 3 and Civ like games.

I want to use this computer as much as I can,at least how many years a retina can work smoothly (not perfectly but just in a sense no problems) and a 2,6 ghz ?

I must admit that I like the retina display version,seems to be more impressive and attractive.
    Any comments would be appreciated
    Regards :p

2. golu14, Jun 30, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2012

golu14 macrumors regular

my uses are just like yours, for fun.

and i have a retina pro.

its worth it, i really love it.

like you said for yourself that you are are not a pro, you will benefit much more from quitter fan, mind blowing display, better speakers, thinner profile than just a slight bump in processor.

my previous laptop was macbook early 2008. it had 2gb ram and core 2 duo which would do still do fine if it didn't broke physically.

both are made from Al and both should be durable, from the specs, 8gb ram and i7 quad is surely to be much more than enough for the years to come for uses like ours.