Macbook Pro has stopped recognising all 4Gbs of Ram - down to 2Gb.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jive, May 3, 2010.

  1. jive macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    I've googled this as much as I can and I have no idea what to do.


    It went from having 4Gb yesterday (or the last time I checked it anyway) down to 2Gb. I'm using a Macbook Pro Unibody bought in July 2009. System Profiler says that it only has RAM in one slot.

    What's going on and how can I sort it? After Effects is also saying that it can't multi-process - I was able to previously so I'm confused on that too.


    Cheers for any help - it's driving me mad not knowing.

    *I've restarted/ran Disk Repairs etc etc
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Saberon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #2
    Take it in for repairs, something is obviously wrong
     
  3. jive thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    I was hoping there was going to be a better way of doing it. I really need my laptop at the moment.
     
  4. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    It appears that one of your slots are dead. You could try taking out the ram and try each slot to verify which slot is actually dead.
     
  5. square one macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
  6. jive thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #6
    I've booked a Genius appt. We'll see how it goes - the laptop is only 9 months old...
     
  7. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    It happens. After all, it is made in China.
     
  8. jive thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    Took it in, turned it on and the 4gb was registering. He took it to bits gave it a clean and gave it back to me. Now it's working fine. Hmm.
     
  9. iketeru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #9
    try swapping the modules next time and see what happens? then you'll know if it's your board or the memory itself.
     
  10. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #10
    Had the same issue with my PBG4... one of the 1 GB sticks wasn't showing up. For a bit, I could fix it by restarting or reseating the RAM. But it got worse and worse until, finally, it stopped showing up altogether. It was a bad slot in my case. It could be either a bad slot or bad RAM in your case. As others have said, try swapping the sticks next time you lose one to see what happens.
     
  11. pukifloyd macrumors 6502a

    pukifloyd

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Scottsdale
    #11
    :D
    good for you OP...
     

Share This Page