Make the bootable usb for 10.13 beta 2

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by tywebb13, Jun 21, 2017.

  1. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #1
    Make the bootable usb installer for 10.13 beta 2:

    The installer name has changed for beta 2 and so the command for making the bootable usb has changed too.

    So now for beta 2, format an 8 GB (or preferably 16GB) USB3 drive which should be called Untitled and formatted as Mac OS Extended (Journaled). The installer should be called Install macOS High Sierra Beta.app and should be in your Applications folder.

    Run this in terminal and wait about 20 minutes:

    sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra\ Beta.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/Untitled --applicationpath /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra\ Beta.app --nointeraction
     
  2. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #2
    Thanks.

    It's also possible to produce an .iso – useful if aiming to test in a VirtualBox environment.
     
  3. xflashx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    #3
    Wait, does that mean that if you redownload HS from the App Store, you now get beta 2 instead of beta 1? That would be awesome, in previous betas you always got beta 1 and had to install the latest beta update.
     
  4. tywebb13 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #4
    Well this time beta 2 comes as a delta update and a full installer.

    The delta update is quicker to download and install because it is smaller.

    But the full installer can be used to make a bootable usb.
     
  5. lemimouth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    #5
    What is different with the command ? it's the same application (createinstallmedia) with same arguments (volume and applicationpath) as before, or did I miss something ?
     
  6. tywebb13 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #6
    As I said before it is the name of the installer which has changed.

    So use

    sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ 10.13\ Beta.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/Untitled --applicationpath /Applications/Install\ macOS\ 10.13\ Beta.app --nointeraction

    for beta 1

    and

    sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra\ Beta.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/Untitled --applicationpath /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra\ Beta.app --nointeraction

    for beta 2.
     
  7. lemimouth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    #7
    This is expected with each new version, right ? :rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
  8. tywebb13 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #8
    Well each time the installer name changes, you have to change the command accordingly or else it won't work.
     
  9. lemimouth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    #9
    That's exactly what I pointed out. The command is exactly the same since a few versions back, except of course the path of the installer
     
  10. lemimouth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    #10
    Anyway thanks for pointing this out. I just thought that if someone want to install a beta in early stage, he should be able to correct the command line by himself ;)
     

Share This Page