iPad Maximizing Push notifications into windows?

Discussion in 'iOS 13' started by chfilm, Jul 10, 2019.

  1. chfilm macrumors 68000

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Hi,

    I read somewhere that it‘s possible to maximize push notifications that pop up at the top of the screen into whole splitscreen windows, but I can‘t figure out how to do it. Any thoughts? Did I get it wrong?
     
  2. Natesac macrumors 6502a

    Natesac

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas,Tx
    #2
    Yeah you would think you could just reach up and grab it, guess not :(
     
  3. Feenician macrumors 603

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #3
    It's only enabled for certain built in apps at the moment as far as I know.
     
  4. ZEEN0j macrumors 65816

    ZEEN0j

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #4
    Just a guess. But maybe only apps that support multiple instances support dragging a notification. Which would explain no third party support at the moment
     
  5. gwhizkids macrumors 601

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #5
    Which apps? i'm trying it on my IPP and can't get anything to do this (Messages, Reminders, Mail -- all built in).
     
  6. Feenician macrumors 603

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #6
    That's weird. I'm 99.9% sure I already did this with Messages. I think that's the only one tried actually. I don't have my iPad to hand but I'll test it later.
     
  7. Shirasaki macrumors G3

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #7
    It’s not much about third party support, it’s about how it is triggered. At the very least, discord works. Since I have disabled notification for almost all of my apps except a few, I cannot tell too much. But, the “drag while float” design has a very high fail chance that even if I want to do it, I will more than likely expand the notification instead of dragging it as full windows. In short, I think the design is cool but needs some serious rework for better use.
    This one is unrelated but wiggle mode should be removed entirely to avoid confusion and support haptic touch better. Just use context menu to trigger it and include a section in settings app to reorder apps and such.
     
  8. Feenician macrumors 603

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #8
    Appears to be broken right now, as far as I can tell. I can't make it work anyway. I think the last time I tried was DB1.

    According to at least one person on ticci's twitter it works(well, worked) on 3rd party apps without modification too. https://twitter.com/viticci/status/1137130863370547200
     

Share This Page

7 July 10, 2019