MBA 11'' screen rough on my eyes, ways to make colours warmer?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Mac32, Jan 17, 2012.

1. Mac32 macrumors 6502a

Hi,

I have a MBA 11', but I find the screen is a bit hard on my eyes. The colours looks cold, too much blue, harsh etc., and this combined with the small screen and text size, makes my eyes sore.
    Is there a way (system settings or software) that can make the screen have more warmer/less harsh colours?

Thanks! :)

2. LordVic macrumors 68040

3. george-brooks macrumors 6502a

george-brooks

I have found that calibrating by eye in advanced mode (be sure to squint, it really helps!!) is probably about 75% as accurate as using a color calibrator, and since you just want it to be warmer so its nicer on your eyes, accuracy isnt a huge issue for you anyways. I would suggest that you open Preferences->Displays->Color, do a basic calibration. The second menu allows you to choose the white point. If you find the standard D65 too cool, try D50. It is quite a bit warmer, but might be exactly what you need!

4. lowercasej macrumors newbie

I ended up returning a 13" Air for this very reason. Besides limiting your use or plugging in an external display, there's not much you can do beyond calibrating the screen, which may help you improve perceived contrast and will let you adjust colour temperature. You can do so by going to System Preferences>Displays>Color>Calibrate...

As you can save and load calibration profiles to/from files, some people have actually posted their profiles for their Air displays on these forums, so you may find trying their profiles useful if you don't have much luck yourself.

Hope this helps :)

5. TheJing macrumors 6502a

TheJing

You're gonna LOVE this software. Download f.lux and enjoy! :)

"f.lux makes your computer screen look like the room you're in, all the time. When the sun sets, it makes your computer look like your indoor lights. In the morning, it makes things look like sunlight again.