MBA 13" i7 256gb. Should I invest on more RAM or HD?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ninobehar, Feb 20, 2014.

1. ninobehar macrumors newbie

Hello my friends!

My first post here. Im planning on ordering a MBA for myself next week and I would like some advice. Im planning on getting the 13" model with the i7 processor, but im not sure if I invest on 8gb of RAM or in a larger HD (512gb). I saw that there are some SD cards to expand the HD, but im not sure what is the best option. Unfortunaly I cant get the ultimate setup.

Im a doctor in residency, so my main use for the MBA will be browsing the web, wathing movies, editing documents and running some statistics programs (SPSS), no graphic or video editing.

If possible can you guys recommend me the best SD expansions for the MBA 13"?

Thanks a lot!

Nino

2. wwong-maui macrumors newbie

RE:MBA 13" i7 256gb. Should I invest on more RAM or HD?

Go for the 8GB of RAM... primarily because that is not upgradeable in the future. There are several options for basic storage -including the ability to use external storage options via the USB 3 ports, ThunderBolt and the SD Slot on the MBA 13". RAM however is soldered in and there is not a feasible upgrade path.

You'll enjoy your MBA so much!

3. fedecape macrumors 6502

fedecape

4. audiokid macrumors newbie

5. ninobehar thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks guys! Ill go for the ram.

Can you guys recomend me a good SD for upgrading my storage on the MBA? I want to get them togheter.

Thanks!

6. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

The RAM upgrade is good.

Or just get both upgrades. SD cards are slow (unless you buy expensive ones AKA $400 for 256GB).

I think you'll be fine with 256GB for watching movies. Just delete the extras or archive them to an external HD that you keep at home.

7. Virinprew macrumors 6502