MBP 13" i5 vs i7, numbers are similiar to 2013 Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mbpmpb17, Mar 27, 2017.

  1. mbpmpb17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #1
    I'm looking at these numbers and wondering if these geekbench benchmarks should be taken with a grain of salt??

    2016 MBP 13" with i5 is: 3825 7247
    (https://browser.primatelabs.com/v4/cpu/2196498)

    2016 MBP 13" with i7 is: 4024 7873
    (https://browser.primatelabs.com/v4/cpu/2192705)

    And an older 2013 Air i7 is: 3624 6577
    (https://browser.primatelabs.com/v4/cpu/2195736)

    I just find it strange that 3-4 years layer it is just a tad faster than an Air, albiet an i7.


    Anyhow, I'm using it for programming and maybe one day some video editing. Paying $300+ for an i7 doesn't really look to make much sense now does it?
     
  2. caramelpolice macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    #2
    The baseline non-Touch Bar 13" Pro uses the same 15W processors the Airs traditionally have. That's why.
     
  3. Sanpete macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Location:
    Utah
    #3
    Yeah, the speculation is that the 13" nTB is seen by Apple as the Air replacement.
     
  4. mbpmpb17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #4
    ah ok.

    So the i7 over the i5 is like 5-7% faster.

    These guys are masters at pricing, I start off with a non-touch, inch may way over to i7 and 16GB ram and now it makes sense to get the 15" MPB!
     
  5. Brammy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #5
    Let me tell you, I'm in the same boat.

    What's worse is, I'm an analyst by trade. So far, I've analyzed whether or not to replace my 2011 15" MBP or my 2014 11" Air, and with what, for so long my head hurts.
     
  6. mbpmpb17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #6
    i bought the MPB 15" :)
     
  7. Brammy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #7
    So did I. Last night. I got the 512gb version.
     
  8. mbpmpb17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #8
    Nice, I got the 256 GB.

    Are you going to get a HUB?

    I bought a satechi hub.
     
  9. Brammy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #9
    No. I don't plug it into many things. I got a spare power brick an 2 USB adapters.
     
  10. SDColorado macrumors 65816

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #10
    Works the same way with cars or cable TV. You start off wanting the basics, but then you find there is something you want in the next tier and once you move to that tier your almost to the tier above that, so why not?

    They know what they are doing.
     

Share This Page