mbp 13 with external monitor or mbp 15 only?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by sweetheartdans, Sep 30, 2011.

1. sweetheartdans macrumors newbie

I am a university student studying teaching. The course is 4 years so I need the laptop to last for at least that long. The university is quite small in terms of walking around.

I do not need the portability for class, however the only times I will take it out of my house are to use it in the uni library, between classes and friends house. I also plan to use it in different rooms around the house.

My eyesight isnt the best and I currently have a 13" dell laptop and dell desktop. After I use the laptop for a long period my eyes do get sore.

Option 1: mbp 13 with external montior from my desktop
    This option is cheaper than option 2, however if I use the computer for a long time, I will be using it as a desktop

Option 2: mbp 15 (base model) only
    I feel that this laptop may be too much power for what i need (my uses are below) and if I decide to take a laptop to uni often, my bag will be heavy with books. I do love the screen size - Im using my sister's 15" laptop

My uses including word processing, powerpoint, internet browsing, email, photos, occassional use of imovie, sims 3 and chat. Would the i7 processor be better?

Which option would be best?

Thankyou :)

2. rockson macrumors newbie

I'd go with the 13

Hey sweetheartdans,

Funny should ask that as I have been asking myself this very question. I am a computer student. I own a 4 year old 15" macbook pro (a fast one) and recently bought a 13" i7. I had been wondering if I should trade them both in on a 17" macbook pro so I would have something to do work on at the school or perhaps just setting up with a large monitor.

Since there are rumors of a new macbook pro I decided to just wait and see how my actual usage would pan out. I didn't know if I would want to do work at home or at the school.