MBP 15" will not stay on while assembled

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ranfanman, Aug 7, 2011.

1. Ranfanman macrumors newbie

Hello everyone, I've been driven here by desperation. I seem to be having a fairly unique problem with my computer. It is a MBP 15", 2.16ghz core 2 duo, early-pre 2008 model. Let me tell you the sordid tale of how my beloved old workhorse came to be a partially assembled, half-functional mess of a machine on my kitchen table.

I am a student. Not wanting to shell out for a brand new MBP as my major required, I decided to go the cheap route and give my existing computer a few upgrades at a fraction of the cost. I ordered 2gb of RAM and a 750gb WD Scorpio black hard drive. I am not the most technically savvy when it comes to hardware, so I enlisted the help of my brother, an IT consultant, for installation. Even he had never dared to crack open an MBP, though, so we were both new to the process. Armed with screwdrivers and guides, we set to work.