MBP Late 2011 13" - battery drains completely after overnight in sleep mode

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by snowydog, Feb 20, 2012.

1. snowydog macrumors 6502

Hi everyone

I only got my mbp back in October - its my first apple laptop so I'm still learning...

I leave my battery in sleep mode overnight and come back in the morning and it won't turn on cos my battery has drained completely.

I used to leave my windows laptop in hibernate mode and it didn't really drain the battery....but sleep mode does with my MBP

I left it on sleep last night and had planned taking it to uni this morning but now I can't cos it needs charged - it was on 1% when I plugged the charger in!

Could it be because I left it hooked up to the external monitor, or maybe because I left my wireless mouse (microsoft one) in?

Bit worried as I know this should be happening....

On another note - I slept in late today - uni starts at 11.15am and my eyes are still opening here and it's 10.30am ...eek!! - I have a 20min drive to get there :eek::(:eek:

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

If it's either one of those it's probably the mouse.

3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Why not leave it plugged in overnight, so it won't drain the battery at all? You should always have it plugged in if you're using an external display.

You may find some useful ideas here:

Mac OS X: Why your Mac might not sleep or stay in sleep mode
    Determine why your Mac wakes up from sleep
    One sleep problem caused by printers - solved

This should answer most, if not all, of your battery questions:

4. hawk1410 macrumors 6502

Doesn't leaving your Mac plugged in affect charge cycles?

5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

You can leave it plugged in overnight, so it's fully charged when you need it. Just don't leave it plugged in all the time, as batteries need to be used to stay healthy. Also, see the WHAT IS A CYCLE? section of the Battery FAQ I posted.

6. iforbes macrumors 6502