MBP may be capable of going to 16GB DDR3?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PPPPaul, Jun 9, 2011.

  1. PPPPaul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #1
    I took my 15" MBP 2.8 Ghz 4 GB 1067 DDR3 in today and chatted with a genius who said "sure runs slow". Told him I was a power user and perhaps I should upgrade the MacBookPro5,3 to 8 GB RAM.

    He said "Actually some people take them higher..." to which I said, "WHAT?!"

    Then this fellow said that 8 GB is all that Apple officially supports. When I asked how high they could go, he said some people get them to go to 16 GB. I asked how and he said "firmware update".

    Has anyone heard the same? If so, any results?

    (I know 16 GB is ridiculously expensive but it would still be nice to know if it's possible!)

    Thanks,
    Paul
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Sounds like you have a core 2 duo, in which case, I don't believe you can do 16GB.
     
  3. stefmesman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; nl-nl) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    As far as my knowledge goes, 16gb only works in 2011mbp"s.
     
  4. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #4
    Okay, given you got 2 slots....

    1. Who makes 8GB single stick 204 pin?
    2. How much does that cost?

    If someone needs 16GB "poweruser" in a MBP, they are using the wrong machine and should get a MacPro, the CPU is the MBP is going to be the bottleneck here.

    OP. 8GB is cheap and would be a nice upgrade for you.
     
  5. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #5
    2011 models are the only ones able to accept 16 g of ram. But, it does work fine.
     
  6. KevinRightWing macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Houston TX
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Guys I have the 17in 2011 mbp but I don't know what ram to buy, I'm a dumb accountant. :)

    Can anyone recommend me some ram to take it to 8gb?
     
  7. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #7
    here's a link to Newegg showing some ram. Anything on the page should work fine. There is a slight performance boost to the 1600 mhz stuff but its also slightly more money.
     
  8. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #8
    http://www.crucial.com/store/listpa...tel Core i7 (17-inch DDR3) Early-2011&Cat=RAM
     
  9. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #9
    Found the answer to my own question.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/Apple_MacBook_MacBook_Pro/Upgrade/DDR3_1333MHz_SDRAM

    at $1500 for 16GB..... lol at that.
     
  10. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #10
    Only the 2011 MBP can handle 16Gb, the earlier revisions can't. No firmware update exists for such a thing, the genius was talking out of his ass.
     

Share This Page