mbp using swap but i still have over a gig of free ram?!?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jus407, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. jus407 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    My laptop is showing i have over 1.1 gigs of free ram available (it says its inactive) but its using 2mb of 64mb of swap why is that how can i get it to stop using swap and use the ram (its causing the spinny wheel to pop up a lot)
     
  2. jsnuff1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    i think the OSX is designed to page and swap usage when a certain percentage of ram is filled up. When I had 2GB of memory it would use the disk even though not all of my RAM was being used up, since of upgraded to 4GB i have had not a single byte page out or swap use.
     
  3. mgacam2 macrumors regular

    mgacam2

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    #3
    Is this true? Because I was thinking my hard drive was going bad and I was going to take my laptop into Apple.
     
  4. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    You can't, and I doubt the tiny amount of swap being used has anything to do with the spinny wheel.
     
  5. jus407 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #5
    its because i had all of my active ram used up and all of my inactive ram wasnt being used so it was causing my laptop to use swap (which is why i think it was cauing the wheel to show up)


    is there a way to force it to use the inactive ram when needed or something?
     
  6. heatmiser macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #6
    The computer is generally better at managing its resources than the user staring at the AM pie chart. Get more memory or stop worrying about it. :^)
     

Share This Page