MBPr15"+TBdisplay vs. MBa13"+iMac27" in terms of useability for Architecture students

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by WouterV, Dec 14, 2013.

1. WouterV, Dec 14, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2013

WouterV macrumors newbie

Hello.

Considering this is my first post here, it might be worth mentioning I have been 'active' on these forums for quite a while now, even before my registration.

Firstly, me. I am a student at an architecture university in Belgium, currently in my 3rd bachelor. I have been using a basic 2010 MBP15 (4GB 1067 MHz RAM, 2,4GHz i5, NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 256 MB) for 4 years now. I think it is time for an upgrade.

Now, my plan is to spoil myself with a new 'workstation' next year. I have saved up enough money to buy myself either a 15MBPr (2,6GHz i7, 16GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2GB) plus a Thunderbolt display, or a MBa (1,7GHz i7, 8GB RAM) plus a 27iMac (3,4GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 1TBFusion, GEFORCE GTX 775M 2GB).

The argument for these combinations is that I need a portable device capable of doing some basic 3D and 2D work, since I will be doing a lot of work at school too. But on the other hand, I would like to have a(n even) more capable machine with a bigger screen at home.
    Beside basic text and entertainment stuff, I will be using the following programs : Adobe Indesign, Adobe Illustrator, Adobe Photoshop, Vectorworks, Revit, Archicad, Sketchup ( and its render plugins ) and Rhindo3D.
    Some of these programs will also be used on a bootcamp partition.

So in summary, my question is :
    Which option do you guys think I should choose, and why? Do you have any other suggestions in mind perhaps?

PS : I looked at non-apple alternatives too. The thing is, even though some alternatives come at a better price, I keep getting drawn back to Apple product due to some reasons listed below.
    1. I am (too) used to the workflow of the OS, and I happen to like it a lot.