MemorySweep - Frees your RAM. Makes phone faster with less crashing (Cost $0!)

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by fungg3, Jul 26, 2009.

  1. fungg3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #1
    I submitted Memory Sweep months ago and finally it's been approved!

    Follow me on Twitter @garywkfung for the latest updates and giveaways.

    Memory Sweep allows you to free the memory on your iPhone or iPod Touch so you can avoid sudden crashes while using third party apps.

    Don't wait until your runtime memory is low and be forced restart your device. Free your memory instantly!

    How it works:
    Your iPhone or iPod Touch has a limited amount of memory. By freeing some of this memory used for native apps (like iPod, Safari, Mail), you are reallocating more memory to run the apps you have downloaded.

    Free 15mb for moderate use or 30mb to maximize clean-up. View full list of running processes and status for free, inactive, active, and wired memory.

    Hope you like the app!
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    Actually was looking for a free memory manager today, but all were paid versions. Thanks so much for this!

    It also tells you all the running apps and the free, inactive, active, and wired memory.

    Edit: One question. How much memory is taken up by this app?
     
  3. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #3
    Oh that sucks, I purchased a memory app yesterday because I couldn't find a free one :doh: I'm going to try yours out right now though because I don't like my paid one :D
     
  4. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
  5. Shoot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
  6. avaloncourt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #6
    That's odd. If I search Memory Sweep on the phone all I get is Memory Sweep Lite. If I select Memory Sweep Lite I get an application called Box of Sox Lite instead. If I search iTunes yours comes up just fine.
     
  7. big_malk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    How does this actually free the memory?
    I'm surprised the sand boxing the SDK enforces lets you interfere with the memory of other apps?

    I've noticed that too, guess there's a bit of a delay between updating iTunes apps store and iPhone app store.
     
  8. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #8
    I had the same thing happen. You just need to type "memory sweep" in your search. The lite isn't in the title.
     
  9. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #9
    Not from the iPhone. It still goes to Box of Sox Lite. :mad:
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    I'm doing it from the iPhone! It also shows Box of Sox in the search, but it has Memory Sweep too.
     
  11. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #11
    Hmmm my iPhone is defective. Never mind the lack of cell service in a 3G network area!

    1.jpg
    photo.jpg
     
  12. mappyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    OP, you need to make it for the 3GS as well.

    Even though we have over 100MB free we need to reclaim it back to 160MB.
     
  13. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #14
    Seriously I wouldn't BS the screen shots! Obviously you're getting different results but why?

    Edit: when typing it brings up what I showed in the SS. BUT If I do hit the search button I get the results you get. :confused:
     
  14. big_malk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #15
    won't the different results in the search be related to different regions of iTunes being updated at different times?
     
  15. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #16
    That's the same result I'm getting, minus that iSciCalc one, so I don't think it's BS.
     
  16. avaloncourt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #17
    I did type memory sweep. That's how I ended up with the lite hit. No app came up on the search named just memory sweep.

    Edited to add: I just tried the search again. This time Memory Sweep came up, Memory Sweep Lite is not in the results and Box of Sox appears on the list the same way as in the image above. Why does the icon now say lite but the title doesn't?
     
  17. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #18
    Going to give it a try on my iPod touch 1st gen 32GB.
     
  18. mindbodysoul114 macrumors newbie

    mindbodysoul114

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #19
    Same thing happened to me...I downloaded it through itunes on my mbp.


    Thanks!! :)
     
  19. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  20. avaloncourt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #21
    Why is the app icon titled Scan? Wouldn't it make more sense to keep it similar to the name of the application and title it Sweep?
     
  21. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #22
    I call BS

    I remember similar program for dos based windows back in the day and none of them worked
     
  22. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #23
    There is something flakey about this program... I noticed it said i'm running Touch Scan Pro? but I don't even have that application on my iPhone.. never even purchased it...

    [​IMG]
    whats the deal?
     
  23. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #24
    I'm assuming it's this app. The memory sweep you're running lol :D
     
  24. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #25
    Then why not say "scan" ( as the title shows on the homescreen ) or i don't Memory Sweep.. Why use another applications name?
     

Share This Page