Mental Illness In The Military On The Rise

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by zimv20, Jun 15, 2007.

1. zimv20 macrumors 601

zimv20

cbs

glad to see our troops are "supported".

i recall one reason being so excited about gore in 2000 was that he took mental health seriously and said we had a long way to go, as a nation, in accepting mental health issues as real as physical ones. i'm willing to bet no real progress has been in the ensuing years, and i think this article supports that.

2. leekohler macrumors G5

leekohler

Looks like Viet Nam all over again. I'm sure Bush will give the vets the option to buy some sort of "stock" in their health care.:rolleyes:

I'm sorry but, anyone who has fought for this country deserves at the very least, free healthcare for the rest of their lives. WTF?

3. SMM macrumors 65816

SMM

I am a Vietnam Vet. I went through a lengthy period of 'readjusting'. Several weeks ago, I watched a documentary about the 'day in the life' of an Army Company deployed as police in Baghdad. It was grim to watch. The next Monday, I told my CEO I was going to work part-time in veteran out-reach. We are bringing home many young people and many will need friends to help them re-enter their lives. Since then, I have been studying the issue. Besides those with emotional problems, there are an estimated 10,000 ME vets, living in the streets of America.

4. MACDRIVE macrumors 68000

MACDRIVE

1) Would you like to be a forest ranger?

. . Yes I would love to. :)

2) Would you like to be a fireman?

. . Yes I would love to. :)

3) Would you wear dark sunglasses to an indoor party?

. . No why? :confused:

Those are just some of the questions I would get on the military psych exams. I would ace the tests every time because the military would use the same generic tests as the institutions on the outside.

The ship's doctor would get so frustrated by my psychiatric prowess. :p

5. Queso macrumors G4