Michigan Senate Committee Advances ‘License To Discriminate’ Healthcare Bill

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by Moyank24, Dec 4, 2012.

1. Moyank24 macrumors 601

Moyank24

Source

Welcome to America in 1712 2012.

I have nothing against people of faith, but I absolutely don't believe religion should be used as justification for discrimination.

2. malman89 macrumors 68000

It's just a committee. As a Michigan resident, I will hope and assume it will die on the Senate floor. It could have enough support in the House, unfortunately.

Either way, Gov. Snyder would veto it. He's great in some ways, but in others not so much. If it's not a project of his, he's pretty hands off and just ignores things until he absolutely has to address it.

3. vega07 macrumors 65816

How embarrassing for Michigan.

I would hope that doctors would know better than to violate the Hippocratic Oath and their own conscience.

4. leekohler macrumors G5

leekohler

This is sad. The war against us continues. I'm sure our libertarian members will just say, "move to another state". This is the problem I have with the libertarian POV. You should not have to move to another state to get proper health care.

5. chrono1081 macrumors 604

chrono1081

Doctors that discriminate shouldn't be allowed to be doctors. They're obviously not of the right intelligence level to be dealing with peoples lives.

6. leekohler macrumors G5

leekohler

Agreed. If you can't do your job, then go find another profession.

7. Moyank24 thread starter macrumors 601

Moyank24