Mojave Boot Time on non-Apple SSDs?

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by Khaleal, Dec 16, 2018.

  1. Khaleal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    #1
  2. Panthera Tigris Altaica macrumors member

    Panthera Tigris Altaica

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Location:
    In the Frozen North, of course.
    #2
    None of my Mac minis have Apple SSDs. I haven't noticed anything special about booting. However, I rarely reboot. I usuall just leave the machines running. Reboot time is not something I usually care about.
     
  3. Khaleal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    #3
    Well, if you don't reboot your Mac mini, then "boot time" doesn't apply to you I think...
     
  4. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #4
    It is slightly faster than High Sierra, but still slower than Sierra.

    So far Mojave has been working flawlessly for me, and performance is overall better, and faster, than HS - so even if booting takes a little more time than before, I can live with it.
     
  5. Khaleal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    #5
    Do you have a non-Apple SSD installed?
     
  6. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #6
    Yes. It's a 250 GB Kingston I bought a while ago. Works perfectly fine, I didn't need a bigger one cause most of my files are on other disks. It's basically just the OS on this disc.

    With High Sierra I noticed much slower (re)boot times than Sierra. With Mojave there is an improvement, not by much but still...
     
  7. Khaleal thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    #7
    Thank you for your reply, what you say means that the "TRIM" bug which High Sierra introduced (that made boot process considerably slower on non-apple SSDs), still isn't solved in Mojave.
     
  8. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #8
    Yes, it doesn't appeared to have been solved. Although I read somewhere a while ago that it wasn't really a bug, that the system actually does trim jobs every time the computer starts, which wasn't the case before High Sierra. Why did they choose to do it that way I have no idea. But it's indeed a little better in Mojave.
     
  9. mikeka macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    #9
    Don't know if I have trim enabled or not. Mojave boot time on my cMP 12-core is 30 seconds from chime using a Samsung 860 EVO 1 TB.
     

Share This Page

8 December 16, 2018