Mojave problems

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by gobblertales, Oct 24, 2018.

1. gobblertales macrumors newbie

I am new here so hoping I am in the right place. Upgraded (ha) to Mojave yesterday. Since then I have lost capability of opening any folders or files or documents with double click. Must right click to "open" and that is it. It has also messed up my thunderbird mail. First cuomer service from Apple tried to help and couldn't and the second person had NO idea what he was doing and in fact after 3 hours had my computer really messed up. Anyway, have gotten everything back in order but still have the original problem. Was told the only way now is get rid of Mojave but have to back up entire computer because it could gt lost going back to Sierra. Apple guy said to get a 3 terabyte hard portable drive (about $800) before doing that. I am a disabled vet so if I had that money i would just get a new computer heck. Am at my wits end...any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

2. FNH15 macrumors 6502

Double click works fine here. Just tried it. What exactly are you trying to open? And what exactly is wrong with Thunderbird?

A 3TB drive is $90, so I don't know how one could remotely come up with a $800 figure... https://www.amazon.com/Elements-Por...pID=31h2rp12GjL&preST=_SY300_QL70_&dpSrc=srch

3. Funsize93 macrumors regular

Funsize93

What OS did you upgrade from?

Did Apple support do any isolation to prove it was Mojave being the cause. Do you have any issues with another user account or safe boot to see if the issue was due to third party kernels or extensions?

Because if the issue is resolved in a new user account then you know its your user settings being the cause. If the issue is resolved in safeboot than you know it was due to some 3rd party software and not Mojave.