Mojave Scrolling While Holding Shift

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by Boe11, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. Boe11 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I did some searching around, but haven't found much on this. I'm a video producer who primarily lives in the adobe suite. Shift+mouse wheel is how I always navigated my timeline from side to side. Since installing Mojave, that now seems to be the shortcut to adjust the system volume, and I CANNOT figure out a way to disable it.

    Please help. :\
     
  2. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #2
    do you have any apps that might be interfering? on my mac (in quicktime, anyway), shift and scroll moves the timeline...
    (as, of course, does simply scrolling). but this does not invoke system volume...
     
  3. Boe11 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #3
    Great point. It looks like better touch tool might be the culprit.
     
  4. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #4
    makes sense...
     
  5. Boe11 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #5
    Can't seem to find the actual issue in the settings, but thanks much for helping me narrow it down!
     
  6. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #6
    try disabling BTT? (it's a great app, but had some issues, and did not install it on mojave)....
     
  7. Boe11 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #7
    I think for now, the lesser evil is my timeline scrolling being borked. I use BTT shortcuts for OS navigation.
     
  8. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #8
    might be worth, at least, disabling it briefly, just to confirm if that is (or isn't) the culprit. if it is, the developer is very-good at helping out...
     
  9. Boe11 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #9
    Nice! I may reach out to them. What you described is how I arrived at my conclusion.
     
  10. Boe11 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #10
    Just to put a bow on this, it was totally user error. I had a couple of BTT shortcuts set up for my mouse that--for whatever reason--caused the wonky volume situation.
     
  11. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #11
    glad you got it sorted!
     

Share This Page

10 December 4, 2018