Mountain Lion broke Call of Duty 4's full screen ability?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by briandev, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. briandev macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #1
    I just upgraded to Mountain Lion and both the single player and multiplayer version of COD4 are no longer in full screen mode.

    I looked at the 2 config files and the fullscreen variable is set to "1."

    Is anyone having this problem and ideas on how to solve it? This is pretty much the only game I play on the Mac and it's frustrating to see it broken. If there isn't a solution, my next question will be how do I go about downgrading! (Kidding, of course..)

    All help is appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. jmacdo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    #2
    Same issue

    I am having the same issue

    Mac Mini
    OS 10.8
    External Monitor

    My guess is that is has to do with Preferences>Displays... There is a new "Best for Display" radio button as opposed to the "Scaled" This seems to be new in Mountain Lion . . .
     
  3. briandev thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #3
    Looks like the issue is that previous to Mountain Lion, it would automatically use the full width of the monitor even if you were using a non wide angle resolution.

    Now, you need to use a wide angle resolution to eliminate the side bars. If you set the resolution to 1024x728 for example, or some other wide screen resolution, the bars will be gone.

    Enjoy!
     
  4. Sylon macrumors 68020

    Sylon

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan/Ohio, USA
    #4
    I noticed that too, although the app was in fullscreen mode, it wasn't filling the screen. You have to go into Options>Graphics and change the settings.
     
  5. jmacdo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    #5
    This doesn't fix it (for me)

    I'm still having this issue after the resolution change. It "attempts" to resize then reverts to black bars on the sides. Frustrating. Also it will go "widescreen" when using 4:3 aspect ratio but the image looks funky and makes it squished in the middle.
     
  6. primalman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    at the end of the hall
    #6
    I seem to be fine, and it seems that I am pulling 10-20 more avg frames per sec!
     

Share This Page