Move on from High Sierra Beta to Mojave Beta?

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by BookEmDanno, Jun 5, 2018.

  1. BookEmDanno, Jun 5, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2018

    BookEmDanno macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #1
    I have this question on the High Sierra thread as well. I apologize for the double post.

    #1
    Aloha Folks,

    I have the latest High Sierra (10.13.5) on a MBAir 13-mid 2011) and everything seems to be working fine. I also have a High Sierra Beta (10.13.6 build 17G21f) on an unsupported MBPro 13-mid 2009). I have these 2 as a sandbox for doing some development and playing around.

    Now that MacOS Mojave (10.14 Beta) is out, would you guys recommend moving on to Mojave Beta and discontinue High Sierra Beta testing?

    Dosdude1, I will much appreciate your opinion/recommendation.

    Mahalo nui Loa

    Danno
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    As long as it’s not your main machine, go for it.
     
  3. DaniloGeekDude macrumors regular

    DaniloGeekDude

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    #3
    I agree.
     
  4. tosbsas macrumors 6502a

    tosbsas

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #4
    anything special I have to do - coming from iOS you need to uninstall the profile for iOS 11 beta to get iOS 12 beta installed
     
  5. BookEmDanno thread starter macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #5
    Not sure what your question is, but this is what I did on my mojave unsupported MBAir 13" mid-2011 sandbox.
    Created another volume on my existing internal SSD partition.
    1. High Sierra GM
    2. Mojave Beta (public beta 1)

    I have the option to boot on either. Working for me right now.

    Hope that addresses your question.
     
  6. tosbsas macrumors 6502a

    tosbsas

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #6
    no it does not :)-))

    in iOS you need to uninstall the profile to be able to install a profile for a newer mayor version. from iOS 11 to iOS 12 thats at least the case. Want to know if after installing "profile" for high sierra beta I need to uninstall that or just install "profile" for Mojave and thats it.
     
  7. BookEmDanno thread starter macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #7
    Don't know or not sure how the iOS profile update applies to HS to Mojave update. Oh well.
     
  8. tosbsas macrumors 6502a

    tosbsas

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #8
    Oh boy - I am asking if it is the same procedure. Nothing else, but got my answer form somewhere else. Just install on top
     
  9. BookEmDanno thread starter macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #9
    Hey Senor, "oh boy"?. Tienes un problema con mi respuesta?
    I just specified that if you have 2 separate partitions for different OS versions, then that is an option for you not to install on top of the other. Parallel to each other? That's all. You are free to choose whatever suits you best.

    Aloha! , que tengas un buen dia!
     
  10. mikzn macrumors 6502a

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #10
    If you have room to add another partition it might be better to have both?

    I just installed Mojave on top of my High Sierra test version and now (a day later) I already wish I had the HS version back - i installed Mojave over top of HS because I did not think I would need the HS version, but there are quite a few softwares that still do not run on Mojave and other differences that might make having both useful.
     
  11. BookEmDanno thread starter macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #11
    That's what I did ~ 2 portions. See post #5 on this thread.
    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...ra-beta-to-mojave-beta.2121693/#post-26217118

    Sorry for your experience in losing HS due to installing Mojave on top of it.
     
  12. tosbsas macrumors 6502a

    tosbsas

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #12
    @mikzn
    Uyy ok. Good to know. I can wait till its more Advanced as space might be an issue
     
  13. redheeler macrumors 604

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #13
    If it's a secondary Mac for beta testing and not your primary one, sure. I've been running the Mojave beta on my 2011 17" MacBook Pro, and though it's not perfect (some issues such as frequent VLC crashes), it's usable and graphics acceleration works on the Intel HD 3000.
     
  14. mikzn macrumors 6502a

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #14
    LOL - i missed that post #5 - good choice and thinking.

    I should have done that too - have a 500g ssd that HS was working on that was almost empty and already on APFS
    would have been easy to partition and just add Mojave.

    Good news is that it is not much more effort to add the HS back on the same external drive with a new partition.
     
  15. Expobill macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    #15
    Get home, turn on macmini, Bluetooth keyboard, TV SCREEN (Samsung) launch safari, type SNY Sports, click click enter password, click,click NBCSport, which is the worst streaming service unless one loves ads, dumb ads, tells me that my operating system is outdated, while the twinight double header is streaming the first game.
    High Sierra...... Mojave.....this is gonna be soooooooo obsolete

    My beef is some jerk at NBCSports programmed what operating system I have, rather than make their streams work fluidly and with retyping my password everyday?
     
  16. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #16
    "Move on from High Sierra Beta to Mojave Beta?"

    Now there's a guy that likes to live dangerously !! ;)
     
  17. BookEmDanno thread starter macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #17
    Well thanks, I think. Not sure if you are just kidding around/sarcastic/serious. I am having fun with both Mojave and High Sierra. I just upgraded my HS beta to the full GM released this morning. So far, no issues.

    Mahalo.
     
  18. tosbsas macrumors 6502a

    tosbsas

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #18
    GM of HS - where was that Released? Still beta 6 here
     
  19. BookEmDanno thread starter macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #19
  20. tosbsas macrumors 6502a

    tosbsas

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #20
  21. BookEmDanno, Jul 10, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2018

    BookEmDanno thread starter macrumors 6502

    BookEmDanno

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    State of ~Aloha!~
    #21
    10.13.16 is no longer beta (10.13.15 --> 10.13.16 is now full release). Carefully read the news items (from iClarified and OSX Daily) I noted on the post.

    Here's an article from (this site) MacRumors:
    https://www.macrumors.com/2018/07/09/apple-releases-macos-high-sierra-10-13-6/

    If Apple continues development on HS beta, it will be more than likely designated 10.13.17 beta. I doubt that it will continue, given that Mojave GM might be released soon.
     
  22. tosbsas macrumors 6502a

    tosbsas

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #22
    whow you are right - I just saw the update an ran it, its release. Doesn't say Devbeta any more
     

Share This Page