Moving 40 gigs of music from mac to windows

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Forest91, Aug 10, 2009.

1. Forest91 macrumors member

Hi all
    I need to move around 40 gigs of music from my MBP to a Toshiba laptop. I have no form of direct connection (firewire, ethernet cable etc) and only have my wireless network. I'm new to windows (can't stand it) and don't have a clue where to begin, but I need to get it done. Tried a search but didn't bring up much that I found helpful/could understand. Any assistance would be very much valued.
    Thanks

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

You can do it wirelessly via network: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=54704
    But 40GB will take you hours to copy via that.

If you can get your hands on a Firewire or LAN cable, it would go faster.

Or you can do the copying over night via W-LAN.

3. Tumbleweed666 macrumors 68000

Get one.

4. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

i.shaun

You could also try DVDs or an external HDD

Basically you go into your "Music" folder, and copy everything in there, then place it on the PC in the exact order it was on the mac. Hold "Shift" when opening iTunes on the PC, and "choose library". Point it to wherever you copied the library to, and it should open with all the songs, playlists, everything it had on the mac.

The way I did it with about 20GB of music, and DVDs is to make playlists named "artists A-D" then highlight all artists from A-D and drag it in. If it was about 4GB, I would leave it at that because my DVDs are only 4.7GB. If it was only 2GB, I would add another letter in, so "A-E", and see how much space that left me.

I continue this on until I know roughly how to split everything up so it will fit on the DVDs.