Moving pics from Vista into OS X… flawlessly?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dgurevich, Jun 12, 2008.

1. dgurevich macrumors newbie

Hi The Mac Community,

I have been using a PC for the last 15 years of which the last 2 were spent in thoughts about switching to a Mac – not quite a unique situation here, I believe. I have not made the decision yet but I’m getting close now.

I bought a high-end Sony AR61 just a couple of months ago and it is a great machine but guess what lets it down. I’ve been fighting with Vista, in particular trying to make it work with my old HP3310 All-in-One for all this time, yet I have to reinstall the HP drivers every other day – the system just refuses to work with the printer!…

Now what…. It is not the hardware that I’m worried about. My main hesitation about joining the Mac Camp is that I won’t be able to move my existing content flawlessly and quickly. In particular, I have about 7000 photos that I’ve kept organized using catalogs in Photoshop Elements for years. Is there a safe way to move this library in OS X environment without loosing the structure and metadata? Rebuilding the catalog structure from scratch in another application is simply a no go as far as I’m concerned.

I’m sure this was / is a common issue for many “switchers”, so can someone share their success story? Please help me to put my AR on Ebay quicker :eek:.

Thanks a lot, Dmitry

P.S. I have a 1TB TeraStation Live NAS on my network – does anyone have experience of using it with a Mac? It works quite unstable with Windows (both XP and Vista), by the way, but perhaps that’s a story to be discussed in another forum.

2. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe