MP5,1: BootROM thread | 140.0.0.0.0

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tsialex, Aug 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #1501
    No, it will work on older OS's too.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 8, 2018 ---
    I lost the chime around 0087.B00 too, but I got mine back 2 firmware's ago.
     
  2. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1502
    Well, sheet, I'll upgrade from boot rom 138 then.

    --- Post Merged, Oct 8, 2018 ---
    Trying to back up v138, and the latest RomTool says that I need to select a chip definition, and has a drop-down with three options:
    MX25L3205(A)
    MX25L3205D/MX25L3208D
    MX25L3206E

    How do I find out this information?
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1503
    What I found now is that I lost the chime on restart, but it is there on a cold boot.

    However, from memory, I lost the chime completely around 0087.B00 regardless cold boot or warm restart. But I can't confirm it now. I really rarely do cold boot.
     
  4. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #1504

    10.6.8 does not have any NVMe driver so if you try and boot 10.6.8 from an NVMe drive you would just get stuck at "still waiting for root device" as OS X cant find the device its booted from

    but yeah 10.6.8 should continue function just fine you just wont be able to boot it from an NVMe drive.
     
  5. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1505
    Mac Pro macOS NVMe support:
    10.12.6 for NVMe 4K sector drives
    10.13 for NVMe 512b and 4K sector drives.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 8, 2018 ---
    The SPI flash is the SOIC-8 chip next to the PCIe AUX-B. Take a photo and magnify it.
     
  6. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #1506
    and 10.11.something IIRC, if you have an Apple branded NVMe drive :)

    (technically NVMe first showed up with 10.10.2 or so with the 2015 MB but thats was a 2015 MacBook specific thing)
     
  7. Upgrader macrumors 6502

    Upgrader

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #1507
    So I might be missing something here but to confirm, booting from an NVMe SSD on the cMP over PCIe 2.0 gains you a huge speed increase over an AHCI SSD?
     
  8. Earl Urley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #1508
    Does the 140 BootROM still retain the 5.0 GT/sec speed rate for PCI slots?

    How do I apply it, use installinstallmacos.py?
     
  9. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1509
    It’s the HighPoint SSD7101A card. The card has a PCIe switch than convert PCIe2.0 16x into PCIe3.0 4x.
     
  10. MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #1510
    I don't think so. I tried an Apple NVMe drive and it was not faster than my SSUBX drive. I think the main benefit is that you can buy an NVMe drive new with warranty and you can get a larger capacity for lower price. For example, a 1TB 970 EVO is about the price of a used 512GB SSUBX. Except for an Apple NVMe drive which are ridiculously expensive.
     
  11. tsialex, Oct 8, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1511
    Yes.
    Still only on the Seed SUCatalog, RecoveryHDMeta.
     
  12. Upgrader macrumors 6502

    Upgrader

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #1512
    Wow, I didn’t know this. I think my mind has officially been blown tonight. Long live the 5,1.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 8, 2018 ---
    Ah, ok, sheeet! That highpoint card aint cheap.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 8, 2018 ---
    Thanks. Just to know that in the near future when my AHCI SSD’s die that I can grab an NVMe and carry on is a great relief.
     
  13. Earl Urley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #1513
    Well, if it's included as part of the release version of 10.14.1 you can bet that's what I'll be installing!
     
  14. Upgrader macrumors 6502

    Upgrader

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #1514
    Ok so I’m just reading that to gain maximum performance from the Highpoint card it needs to be in a x16 slot. That aint happening in my cMP as my RX580 is in there. But native bootable NVMe is still an epic event.
     
  15. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1515
    99337963-9E16-4819-85EA-35EDC1B81781.png Looks like i have the 3205D
    gav
     
  16. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1516
    Slot-1 with SSD7101A, Slot-2 with RX580.
     
  17. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #1517
    Yup!
     
  18. TheStork macrumors regular

    TheStork

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #1518
    Interesting. So, I should swap slots in my MP51 with the Angel Wing NVMe card/Samsung 970 EVO and R8 280x, currently in Slot 2 & 1, respectfully?

    In my MP3,1, should my Acorn SSD PCIe/2x120GB SSDs (Slot 2) be in Slot 4? (I am so overwhelmed with everybody's SSD PCIe cards placements.
     
  19. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #1519
    What he was saying is that the RX580 is so wide, it encroaches onto PCIe Slot 2’s space, which interferes with putting another full size x16 card into slot 2.

    The solution is to put the HighPoint, or any other full-size x16 Card in Slot 1 & the RX580 in Slot 2. Since you have a 280X, this doesn’t really apply to you.
     
  20. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1520
    No need, it’s a Sapphire Pulse RX-580 problem (uses 2.2 slots).
     
  21. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #1521
    That's why I like 7950's & 7970's & R9 280X's Gonna buy a Highpoint 7101A-1 next week !
     
  22. Upgrader macrumors 6502

    Upgrader

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #1522
    ...and so what’s the best use for the Highpoint Card? For a boot drive or a media/files and folders drive? I’m reading that it’s a waste putting a boot drive on there...
     
  23. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68020

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1523
    Has 4 slots, so you can install up to 4 PCIe drives. You can use a boot drive plus a 3 drive array.
     
  24. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #1524
    PCIe M.2 NVMe drives are faster than SATA II especially on the Highpoint card.
     
  25. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #1525
    Yes, I really liked my EFI flashed HD7970 too, unfortunately it died and had to be replaced.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page