MP5,1: BootROM thread | 140.0.0.0.0

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tsialex, Aug 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1576
    I don't know anything about MP7,1 schedule, but Cupertino is updating the MP6,1 firmware too, 3 updates since 10.13.5.
     
  2. pierrox macrumors regular

    pierrox

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #1577
    Been following this thread for a while. Scared is right, especially if your machine is used in a production environment and not your personal one you can fool around at home with.
    It's not exactly very Apple to give retro-active presents like this. We're talking about a machine that's been around for a long time, like a good 10 years if you include the development after MacPro 3,1. The first surprising thing was the official lists of GPU, especially as they have never really acknowledged that those could be put in a Cheese Grater, they were originally approved for eGPU boxes like the Sonnet kit.
    They know for sure that there are still a lot of pros out there using their Cheese Graters, is it a way of saying to the nerdiest of those that Apple still thinks about the pros? Or to give us hope that the next Mac Pro will be so amazing that we should stick around a bit and not build a PC/Linux box?
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1578
    Why I never think about that. We should submit bug reports about SSD on PCIe card’s recognised as external. The OS consider they are ejectiable is obviously more than cosmetic issue.
     
  4. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1579
    You can't eject your boot drive. AFAIK, the problem is when installing Windows.
     
  5. phoenix.factory macrumors newbie

    phoenix.factory

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #1580
    Hi all,

    I'm new here. Just wanted to share what I've succeeded just reading this thread. Thank you all.

    cMP 1
    2009 5.1 upgraded to 140.0.0.0.0
    GPU Sapphire Nitro+ 580 8 Go
    NVME toshiba 256 Go
    Mojave 10.14


    cMP 2
    2009 5.1 upgraded to 140.0.0.0.0
    GPU EVGA 980Ti Mac flashed
    SAMSUNG SATA 850 Pro
    HighSierra 10.13.6 - no nvidia drivers for Mojave :(


    This is bringing great opportunities to keep my cMPs alive for a few more years.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1581
    But we can eject non boot drives, they also show as external.
     
  7. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1582
    You can eject internal drives connected to the native SATA ports too, exact same behaviour. I'm not seeing a problem here.
     
  8. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #1583
    you can unmount internal SATA drives

    but you cant eject them, a bit a difference :) (nor can you hot plug them sadly)

    upload_2018-10-9_12-47-12.png

    I dont have an NVMe drive to test, so i cant tell if that eject button is greyed out on them or not.
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1584
    This is exactly what I mean. Ejectable, not just unmountable.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 9, 2018 ---
    And make it can install / boot Windows natively still better.
     
  10. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1585
    You are forgetting external drive arrays connected by PCIe. Apple will answer that the behaviour is intended.

    If you want to request hot plug support, I'm all in, but to change PCIe drives to non ejectable, it's no go at least for me and maybe a lot of people.
     
  11. LightBulbFun, Oct 9, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2018

    LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #1586
    im just wondering if that eject button is or is not greyed out on the external showing PCIe SSDs?

    and if its not greyed out what happens if ya click it? does it just unmount the device or does it somehow manage to eject the entire drive from the PCIe bus? like how it ejects a USB stick LOL
     
  12. tsialex, Oct 9, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1587
    Eject, you can't even re-mount it with diskutil mountdisk. That's the behaviour needed with PCIe arrays to disconnect it.

    Hotplug support would be wonderful, but I don't have such high hopes.
     
  13. bsbeamer macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #1588
    FWIW, both Apricorn Velocity Solo X2 (with one SATA SSD) and Duo X2 (with two SATA SSDs) which are connected via PCIe show as ejectable. No strange behavior for either of them. The Solo is my current boot drive. Still on 10.13.6 and not yet on 140.0.0.0.0 firmware.
     
  14. RetroDan macrumors member

    RetroDan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1589
    So is the Highpoint 7101a the only quad M.2 NVME card that will work in the cMP? With the release of 140.0.0.0.0, I've been looking for one with 4 M.2 slots, but have had little luck.
     
  15. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1590
    Amfeltec Squid.
     
  16. turluttu macrumors member

    turluttu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Location:
    Moscow
    #1591
    Thanks for the research. I am very happy!
     
  17. GSXB macrumors newbie

    GSXB

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Location:
    England
    #1592
    --- Post Merged, Oct 9, 2018 ---
    Is this really safe to do as it’s only a beta
     
  18. turluttu macrumors member

    turluttu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Location:
    Moscow
  19. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #1594
    Which fits nicely with a GTX 1080 FE in slot 1 and the Squid in slot 2 btw. Not sure about the RX 580 Pulse, is it wider than the 1080 FE?
     
  20. tsialex, Oct 9, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1595
    There is only one type of PCIe NVMe drive, AFAIK.

    If you are asking if all PCIe NVMe drives are supported, Samsung 950PRO is do not work.
     
  21. turluttu macrumors member

    turluttu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Location:
    Moscow
    #1596
    Thanks for the answer. Will it work?
     
  22. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1597
    Yes, but buy a model with heatsink. NVMe drives get hot.
     
  23. fhturner macrumors 6502

    fhturner

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL & Atlanta, GA
    #1598
    Why is that? Just curious...
     
  24. tsialex thread starter macrumors 68030

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1599
    Just don't work, white screen forever on boot.
     
  25. highvoltage12v macrumors regular

    highvoltage12v

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    #1600
    Same here one of my Mac Pros still have an EFI gtx970 in it that was NVMe flashed on 089 and High Sierra. I just extracted recovery from one of other Mac Pros, and ran it on the High Sierra install. Retained NVMe support while gaining the the newest firmware and still on High Sierra.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page