MP 1,1-5,1 MP5,1: BootROM thread | 144.0.0.0.0 is a pre-requisite to disable Hyper-threading

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tsialex, Aug 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. kings79 macrumors regular

    kings79

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    #1451
  2. MarkC426 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1452
    Thinking about putting Mojave onto another ssd.
    The new fw and changing to apfs won’t affect my other ssd with hs hfs+ will it.
    Planning to keep using hs, so mojave is just to check it out.
     
  3. tsialex, Oct 8, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1453
    No, it will only convert to APFS the disk that you install Mojave.

    13[8,9].0.0.0.0 don't change the ability of booting previous macOS versions.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 8, 2018 ---
    Just use a Metal Supported GPU to upgrade MP51.0089.B00 to 138.0.0.0.0, you don't need a Metal GPU to run 13[8,9].0.0.0.0 with any previous macOS version.
     
  4. rippiedoos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    #1454
    The creator of the Matt-card had released a specific MacPro-card.

    http://www.cmizapper.com/buy/mattcard-mac-desktops.html

    Just plug in the card and you have an override EFI-ROM so you don’t need to desolder the chip. And it’s easy to flash as it can be detached from the motherboard and flashed standalone.

    No, I’m not the creator of these cards and not affiliated with this guy. I just received a mail from him with the updated product.
     
  5. MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #1455
    New firmware update today. 140.0.0.0.0. Not sure what changes it contains. No boot screens for non-EFI cards.

    Screen Shot 2018-10-08 at 10.25.02 AM.png
     
  6. tsialex, Oct 8, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1456
    Apple released today 10.14.1 DP3. MP51 got a new BootROM: 140.0.0.0.0

    Code:
    $IBIOSI$ MP51.88Z.F000.B00.1809191555
    Apple ROM Version
      Model:        MP51
      EFI Version:  140.0.0.0.0
      Date:         Wed Sep 19 15:49:52 2018
      Build Type:   Release
    
    Same Intel microcodes:

    Screen Shot 2018-10-08 at 14.41.41.png

    NVMe EFI module already injected:

    Screen Shot 2018-10-08 at 15.18.42.png

    PCIe drives still recognised as external.
     
  7. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #1457
    out of curiosity how did you apply this one?

    im curious if you still need to run the installer.app to get the FW update or if apple has finally patched their stuff so MP5,1 FW updates now install via System update like other macs

    (im not on the beta profile so I have to install the MP5,1 FWs via running the .app from the recovery dmg or such)
     
  8. MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #1458
    I keep a seperate beta install of Mojave with the developer seed. I downloaded the update and told it to restart in an hour. Then I copied the recovery hd package from the Updates folder in Library after it downloaded into another folder. Then I opened the recovery hd package with Pacifist and extracted the DMG in resources. Then I mounted that and opened Base System and then opened the Install MacOS app to apply the firmware update.
     
  9. Matty_TypeR macrumors regular

    Matty_TypeR

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #1459
    Wow seems to be a new boot rom every week, what's changed in this one?
     
  10. tsialex, Oct 8, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1460
    Checked three times. It's real!!! Apple included the NVMe EFI module!!!!

    Screen Shot 2018-10-08 at 15.18.42.png

    It's a different NVMe EFI module than MP61:

    Screen Shot 2018-10-08 at 15.26.55.png

    PCIe drives still recognised as external.
     
  11. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #1461
    Wow, guess Apple is not done with the cMP yet after all! Nice find!
     
  12. skizzo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    #1462
    I personally do not have a real (work related) need for a NVMe drive so the hacked support for it did not appeal to myself too much. I will be keeping my eye out for good prices on a controller and PCIe NVMe now for the sake of "why not?!" given it is supported natively lol
     
  13. Balaise macrumors newbie

    Balaise

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2018
    #1463
    Very nice surprise! The bonus point will be if the disk icon and status will change to non removable...
     
  14. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #1464
    Woo! Thank you Apple! sadly I dont have any NVMe devices to test the new native driver out with, but id be very interesting in hearing how well it functions and if NVMe devices are properly recognised as internal devices now? I wonder if they will add an FL1100 USB3 driver to EFI next? :D

    upload_2018-10-8_19-43-37.png
     
  15. Phraenque macrumors newbie

    Phraenque

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Location:
    Gouda, the Netherlands
    #1465
    Hi Skizzo, I see in your signature that you have a GT120/RX580 combo in your cMP. Is there a particular reason why that works in your machine, because several forum members (I included) said this combo did't work? What's the secret?
     
  16. tsialex thread starter macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1466
    AHCI still external…
     
  17. crjackson2134, Oct 8, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018

    crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #1467
    Working well with the Apple_Injected NVMe ROM.

    This is a stock ROM with no MODS, directly from Apple with preloaded NVMe support. It's official, we have it now :)

    Screen Shot 2018-10-08 at 2.50.48 PM.png

    Samsung SSD 970 PRO 512GB.png
     
  18. bsbeamer macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #1468
    For whomever is testing the 140.0.0.0.0 firmware, it may be helpful to report success with your brand/model adapter, the NVMe SSD brand/model/capacity, and if this is indeed your boot drive so a reference list can be built. A lot more people will be interested in moving to NVMe in the next few months if it's officially supported by Apple.

    Hope @tsialex gets a thank you from Apple in the release notes for the tireless work on this!
     
  19. tsialex, Oct 8, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018

    tsialex thread starter macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1469
    AFAIK, only NVMe drive that do NOT work is Samsung 950 PRO.
     
  20. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #1470
    All my specs are listed in my signature and yes, this is my boot drive. I didn't inject anything related to NVMe. This is a pure Apple upgrade folks.

    Sorry I can't post more right now.

    I've got to go change underwear, I just Shipped my pants ;)
     
  21. skizzo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    #1471
    I have used both GPU's simultaneously in a couple OSX versions. Honestly the only reason I have both is for easy access to the boot manager screen holding ALT at startup, as well as both of the my terribly (but work for my workflow) outdated 1600x900 resolution monitors have VGA and DVI inputs. Since the RX580 only has 1 DVI out I still needed to use the GT120 until I got a HDMI to DVI cable.

    Using a GT120 and RX580 simultaneously worked for me in all High Sierra versions, where it got its most use/testing. I know it worked for me in Sierra 10.12.6 also, but not near as much use/testing. I am also thinking it worked in El Captain 10.11.6.....but don't recall since I literally only installed El Captain in order to upgrade to Sierra and High Sierra. I never actually used/tested it in El Captain.

    I did not do anything special to get this combo working. RX580 is in slot #1 and GT120 has been in slot #3 and #4 for the extended testing. It worked in slot #2 also but one of the RX580 fans wanted to catch the GT120 directly above and gave me some overheating issue I think one day so slots #3 and #4 were the best option for use and cooling.

    I am waiting for things to iron out a little more in Mojave before I make a separate drive for that OS. But I already know ahead of time that the GT120 is not really compatible. So if you are talking exclusively about Mojave not working with this combo, that is a known "issue". Not really an issue, its just that the GT120 is so old and does not support the required version of Metal that Mojave needs to run smoothly. From other's feedback, it sounds like the GT120 is "usable" in Mojave but very laggy (lacks acceleration) and I'm sure has a handful of graphical glitches.
     
  22. eksu, Oct 8, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018

    eksu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    #1472
    Wow, unbelievable.

    Are there any other requests we need to make to Apple? Support for X5698 & X5687 processors? UEFI bootscreens?

    EDIT: Obviously the correct answer was ‘Vega Fan Fix’, so I can put a Frontier Edition in my cMP.


    I am excited to soon be reading about what the best NVMe drive options are for the cMP. I better get myself a highpoint adapter.
     
  23. tsialex thread starter macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1473
    Start asking for HEVC encoding with RX580, maybe if enough people request it, Apple will enable it for MP51.
     
  24. StellarVixen macrumors 68000

    StellarVixen

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Location:
    Earth
    #1474
    Wait, what! Is this only in your case, or 2016 and later Macs are gonna get startup chime, too?
     
  25. tsialex thread starter macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #1475
    Only MP51. MP51.0087.B00 removed it, 138.0.0.0.0 restored.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page