MPB 15" and the Hardcore WoW addict: Am I going to run this laptop into the ground?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Wry Guy, May 2, 2010.

1. Wry Guy macrumors newbie

Hi, there. I'm fairly new to macs, and completely new to laptops- this past week has been my first experience with gaming on a lappy- and I grow concerned.

I play WoW for absurd amounts of time. I'm talking bordering on eight hours a day... give or take three. And that entire time, my poor MBP is sweating at 80-90C. Now, I have no qualms with running a desktop like a packhorse- but I'm not sure about a laptop. Will the constant high temperatures (albeit within safe parameters) fry my system, and should I maybe ease up on the reigns?

Specs:

PROCESSOR 2.66GHz Intel Core i7

MEMORY 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRM - 2x2GB

HARD DRIVE 500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400

OPTICAL DRIVE SuperDrive 8X DL

DISPLAY MBP 15" HR Glossy WS Display

GRAPHICS GeForce GT 330M

Thanks in advance- and thanks for helping a mac-newb out. :p

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Heat is never good for components so it may shortener its life. If you get AppleCare, you're covered for three years in case something fries.

I would build a desktop PC for gaming, much better performance and no heat issues

3. Hackint0sh macrumors member

Hackint0sh

I was a 6 hour a day wow addict playing on an MBP as well. Just run it on a cooling pad and you'll be fine.

PS....More than 2 hours a day of Wow is really, really bad for you. ;)

4. Wry Guy thread starter macrumors newbie

Aye, I know a laptop (particularly a mac) isn't the best for gaming, but the mobility helps, and when I'm not squandering my life away I actually use it for schoolwork.

Still. I don't want to nuke it.

5. MikhailT macrumors 601