My $2500 15"MBP had 4 hard drive replacements and 1 logic board replacement. BAM!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by xxnnxx, Oct 1, 2010.

1. xxnnxx macrumors newbie

While I was having this MacBook Pro, I had too many problems.

To make the long story short, I am a careful computer user and I treat my computer like my baby since I am a college student studying Architecture and I spend more time and money on my computer than on books and there haven been 5 replacements on this mbp that I am using right now.

My 1st hard drive crash happened 3 weeks after I bought my mbp in April 2008. I got it replaced under warranty.

2nd hard drive crash happened little after 6 months.

I went and bought AppleCare.

3rd crash was LOGIC BOARD crash. It happened a week before my final presentation for my design studio during Thanksgiving weekend. Thanks goodness AppleCare covered the replacement part cost. I still had to pay for labor fee because they had to 'investigate' what the problem was.

4th crash happened 6 months after the logic board replacement.

5th crash happened 2 months after the 4th hard drive replacement. It was June or July, 2010.

Basically, I had brand new system every 6 month and I am sure getting a different MBP even the same old model would be a better idea for both Apple and me.

I think I deserve complaining/whining about what I went through after this many problems with one MBP. So, please bear with me.

In my college program, more than 70% has same mbp as I do and mine is the only mbp had this much problem. My peers usually have charger and battery problems, not consistent hardware problems.