Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

slipper

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Nov 19, 2003
another 'just wondering why' thread. pardon my ignorance as i am a computer noob, and please dont think i am merely glorifying macs with this thread. im looking for really subjective answers.

everytime i use a PC, it makes me appreciate Macs so much more. obviously my 800mhz g4 iBook is overall slower than a 3ghz PC processor wise, but i noticed that PCs tend to run at less than full capacity a lot more than my mac. considering i am a computer noobie, the best i could explain what i am thinking is that maybe PCs require more to run at optimal levels or are subject to more slow downs? thus slowing down to a point seemingly slower than my iBook. anyone know what i am blabbering about and have an explaination?

Capt Underpants

macrumors 68030
Jul 23, 2003
Austin, Texas
Pop in UT2K4 and see which one is faster.

Your iBook shouldn't be faster than that P4. Something's wrong if that is the case. Can you give more system specs?

Disco

macrumors newbie
Jun 20, 2004
Spyware?

It has been my experience that PCs when first bought glide by my iBook (800) and then after... week(s) days or even hours the PC has so many issues that my iBook seems to be much faster. Just my experience.

gopher

macrumors 65816
Mar 31, 2002
Maryland, USA
slipper said:
another 'just wondering why' thread. pardon my ignorance as i am a computer noob, and please dont think i am merely glorifying macs with this thread. im looking for really subjective answers.