My iPhone 4s location says China but I'm in Scotland

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by iLauren, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. iLauren macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    I've never been to China in my life but my clock keeps changing if I keep it on automatic and my weather and google maps shows my location in Datong, China. Has anyone ever had this problem? This problem just started yesterday
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Close enough:D
    lol
    When you go to maps does it find your location fine?
     
  3. iLauren thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    nope it says I am in datong, china. gives me a location there. I've tested it on twitter too...also says I'm in china
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Very odd.
    I'd try a restore and setup as new phone to see if it fixes the location problem.
     
  5. dotme macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa
    #5
    I was mis-located (new word?) last year at a cafe. Turned out to be a wifi thing. It was strange, but I think my phone grabbed the name or mac address of a nearby wifi router and somehow had that router as being in a completely different place. I was in a college town, so I suppose it's possible a student brought their router with them to school.

    Anyway, have you checked location when you're out and about? Have you tried disabling wifi and then checking your location again? Just easy things to try before a restore...
     
  6. iLauren thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #6
    Thanks for your advice.

    I've tried everything I could think of. When I was at University this morning, about 20 miles from where I live, it still said China and that was just with 3G. It's driving me crazy!
     
  7. dotme macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa
    #7
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3463431

    Hope that link works. That thread started a month ago, but the last 8 pages of it are fresh (all posts from the past 48 hours or so). One poster says Apple is now investigating. Some are speculating, since it's Europe that seems to be dominating with this issue, that it may have something to do with Russia's GPS system which I think the newest iPhones / iOS supports. Anyway, seems worth a read...
     
  8. iLauren thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    Thanks, great find! very much appreciated.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.

Share This Page