My ISP has blocked a certain site. How to use VPN and access it?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by stanny, Jan 31, 2010.

1. stanny macrumors 6502

I was told I needed to use VPN to access that blocked site. Anybody know of a free service and methods on how to do it on Mac OSX? I am quite new to this.

2. JNB macrumors 604

JNB

Unless you have previously been given credentials (username/password) to that site, you're not getting in. It's a private network you're trying to access, and you need to tunnel in using a VPN client. Your ISP isn't doing anything.

3. stanny thread starter macrumors 6502

I have no idea what you're talking about. There's a web site, say youtube and this new country which I am in has blocked it. I accessed youtube fine back in my home country. Can I use this "VPN" thing to access youtube?

4. JNB macrumors 604

JNB

VPN is Virtual Private Network. For example, a network at a corporate office can be accessed by employees when directly connected, but when trying to connect remotely, such as from home, they have to use a VPN client that acts to prevent outside users from getting in, unless they have the proper credentials to do so.

So, not only do you have to have a client, you must have the proper credentials once connected anyway.

The short answer is no, you cannot access it.

5. enberg macrumors regular

Uhm, there are commercial VPN providers that let's you use their networks to connect to the internet via their servers. All you need is for your ISP to not block the VPN provider.

6. stanny thread starter macrumors 6502

I just accessed the blocked site through a VPN service called hotspotshield. It says on their site "100% Security Through a VPN". Looks like your short answer turned out to be wrong JNB. Although it is a little slow. Are there any other free ones?

7. Hmac macrumors 68020