My letter to OWC after they cheated me on an SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by econgeek, Nov 26, 2011.

1. econgeek macrumors 6502

MacSales--

As a preamble to this history, I want you to know that I studied electrical engineering in college, and have been professionally developing software for 20+ years. I understand the electronic and software issues of flash at a fairly detailed level, including the method by which sandforce controllers compress data and arrange it in the flash address space, and such things as, for instance, the mechanism by which individual flash bits store data and degrade over time.

To bring you up to speed, here's what's occurred so far:

March 10, 2011: I bought an SSD (OWCDDMBSSD120) in order number [redacted]
    ~March 15, 2011: You ship the order
    April 4th, 2011: I receive the SSD (I'm in england, takes time for things to cross the pond and clear customs, but all told this is reasonably fast.)
    April 12th, 2011: I contact OWC Customer Service, get non-responsive response on 4/13. This is less than 30 days after you ship.
    April 13th, 2011: Request RMA [RMA-number] RMA Request-[RMA-request-number] because the drive does not work. If you will review your email, you will notice that I said the issue was intermittent, but often resulting in inability for computer to see the drive.
    April 13th, 2011: Request Refund after drive is returned, told that your "guarantee" is for 30 days after *order placed*, meaning you effectively only guaranteed drive for 9 days (or 26 days after you shipped.)
    April 14th, 2011: I attempt to discuss the issue with your CSR, but it becomes clear they can't help diagnose.
    April 16th, 2011: I returned the SSD
    April 25th, 2011: I received the *exact same* drive I RMA'd back from you. Apparently untouched (and dumped in the bottom of the box, so it shipped without any physical protection) hilariously, later your tries to snow me with BS about this. Here's the relevant quotes: