My MBP doesn´t recognise my Mini DV camcorder

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by lucianobaitella, Sep 7, 2007.

1. lucianobaitella macrumors newbie

My MBP doesn´t recognise my new Samsung VP-D371 camcorder. What should I do? How can I make the MBP recognise the camera? What I have to isntall? I am a beginner in both Apple and camcorder´s world. The camera didn´t come with any CD or programme to install. No driver, nothing. I bought the IEEE 1394 (Firewire) cable. Which programe would you guys recommend also to tranfer, cut, edit and save the videos in different format for a beginner?

2. lighthouse_man macrumors 6502a

Your camera allows DV to go out but not in. Check your camera manual to allow DV out port. With some cameras, you have to do it.

3. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

Texas04

Could you please give us more details?

There will be no "HELLO! YOUR CAMERA IS CONNECTED" prompt like there is in Windows, just turn on your camera and set it to VCR mode, open up iMovie (should have come with it) and move the slider (in iMovie '06) on the left to the little camera icon. Then be sure to select the name of your camera and you are good to go!

4. lucianobaitella thread starter macrumors newbie