My monitor died. What should I get $500-ish?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by machenryr, Apr 20, 2018.

  1. machenryr macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #1
    I’ve been using a Samsung. About three years ago my Cinema died. I use two Mac Pros, 2009 5,1, 3.46 GZ. So I use a iogear switcher to share one display for two Macs. Now I have a death white screen. I connected the MP with my MBP, sharing the screen, so I know it’s not the computer. At least I know that it’s working.

    I don’t want to spend for an Apple display. Too expensive. Eventually I’ll have to break down and get two. I’m in the process of building a recording studio, so it makes total sense that it would break NOW. LOL

    This has been suggested. I want to make sure it’s compatible. I’m hoping i can pick one up at Best Buy. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06XT67BR7/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1&pldnSite=1
     
  2. kschendel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #2
    What size and resolution do you need? For 2560x1440 the monitor you linked to ought to work. You can also consider a BenQ BL3200PT, which is a nice monitor (I have one), and might be a little less expensive. It is flat rather than curved, I don't find that to be an issue but you might.
     
  3. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #3
    Curved is nice but not a requirement. We have one for our TV. Larger the better. Resolution? Who knows? I’m not a gamer and rarely graphic stuff. Thank you. Will check that out.
     
  4. bsbeamer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #4
    Should be, especially if you were using ACD 27" in the past. If wanting to eventually put two of these side-by-side, I personally prefer to use non-curved monitors for that setup.

    What GPU are you using?
     
  5. kschendel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #5
    Even the original GT120 can drive 2560x1440 perfectly well for non-video, non-photo-critical work. (But get a monitor that does DisplayPort or mini-DP, for best results and minimum hassle.)
     
  6. fendersrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #6
    The monitor you linked is stuck at 60Hz, which would bother me for a monitor purchased in 2018. It also has a VA panel, which isn't as good as IPS, but better than TN in some regards. VA is a "middle ground", but know that response times, color accuracy, and viewing angles "can" still suck. If those things don't matter to you, then a monitor is basically a monitor. YGWYPF!

    For me, "musts" would be:

    * IPS. Still the best!
    *120 or above Hz. Anytime motion is on the screen, such as your mouse cursor, it will be smoother. A must have.
    * 27" or above. 27" is still a nice size.
    * 2560x1440. This is the perfect "all-around" resolution if you play games and do productivity.

    I think there's like 3 monitors only that have all of what's written above.

    This Asus I would be looking at closely if my budget was $541. It has all of the above:
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ZOO348...ng-20&linkId=d035346dd5d6a1c81e404f7d0db23663

    $742:
    https://www.amazon.com/PG279Q-2560x...ng-20&linkId=0fe7c2e98d9f54cd3de291056d98eee1

    Only 100Hz, but still probably pretty good. Expensive though at nearly $1000:
    https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predato...ng-20&linkId=ff8c422656ffd098ae7f5e2e412f3dac
     
  7. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #7
    Look at the Dell 2715Q 27" 4K.

    2715q.jpg

    Great price, and great monitor. Has DP, mDP and HDMI input, and DP output for daisy chaining.

    Set to "retina mode" on an Apple, or tell the system that it's a 1440 display. The monitor seems to have some image processing, so the non-native picture is surprisingly free of jaggies.
     
  8. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #8
    Yeah. For me a monitor is just a monitor, I guess? As I said I’m not a gamer or graphics designer or movie maker, though I’ve done all as needed. But never games.

    Thanks. I’ll check these out.
     
  9. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #9
    For that price I can buy two! Great!
     
  10. flehman macrumors 6502

    flehman

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    #10
    I got this one for my 4,1->5,1 late last year to replace the old 23" Cinema Display. I LOVE it. Driving it at 2560x1440 Retina resolution (HiDPI) with a 980.
     
  11. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #11
    How can I tell whether the monitor is blown or the video card instead? It COULD be a cable. I’m checking that today as well. I just don’t want to go back and forth all day.
     
  12. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #12
    Just to clarify. Can I use a display port? Remember these are 2009 Mac Pros. I can use that? Is that part of the multi video box I put in a box somewhere?
     
  13. kschendel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #13
    The 2009 MP shipped with Nvidia GT120 and an AMD card that I don't remember the model of, but both do mini-DisplayPort. mDP to DP converter cables are a few dollars (see e.g. monoprice.com). I'm running my BenQ BL3200PT from a 2009 Mac Pro with the original GT120, using the miniDP output on the GT120 and the DP input on the BenQ.

    If you have some sort of outboard video thing you'll have to provide details.
     
  14. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #14
    Ok. I have the GeForce GT 120.
     
  15. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
  16. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #16
    That BenQ looks really nice. Maybe Best Buy it Fry’s has it. Thanks for the help.
     
  17. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #17
    I got the Samsung 32" curved. CHG&0 with Quantum Dot?? It's actually a GAMING MONITOR! What's wrong with me? Huge. I've got to figure out a way to bring the resolution or size down. I was hoping to have MORE screen real estate. Things are just BIGGER. I'd like things to be a LITTLE bit bigger so I can fit more things on the screen. LOL. I'll figure it out. It looked so cool in the store! I figure since I'm building a recording studio I need to get something that actually LOOKS more 2018. Way too much. I'll never do gaming. LOL. Thanks folks!
     
  18. kschendel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #18
    How are you connecting to it? If you use HDMI you'll only get 1920xsomething and things are just larger, as you report. Use DisplayPort to get full resolution. You might also check settings on the monitor itself.
     
  19. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #19
    I think my only option is DisplayPort with a HDMI adaptor.
     
  20. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #20
    I think I see. There does seem to be a displayPort connection. I need a DP to miniDP. Thanks. I just got the miniDP to HDMI.
     

Share This Page