My new 2011 2.2 ghz macbook pro 15 in bootcamp shows only 2.0 ghz processor...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AbyssImpact, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. AbyssImpact macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #1
    Is this normal? I have a 2.2 ghz processor not a 2.0. How do I fix this?
     
  2. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #2
    You can't fix that.

    What were you doing when you looked at the CPU speed? What Windows version were you using?

    Windows could have been thrown by the speed stepping technology in the CPUs. If so, it's not really a problem.
     
  3. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #3
    Download cpuid it will show speed and speedsteppig speed
     
  4. AbyssImpact thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #4
    I'm using a retail version of Windows 7 Professional.
     
  5. AbyssImpact thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #5
    I just reinstalled Windows 7 and it is still 2.0 ghz processor in bootcamp. Should I take it to my Apple store so they can give me a new laptop? Something gotta be wrong.
     
  6. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #6
    You fail reading. Download this, take a screen shot and post.

    http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z/versions-history.html
     
  7. SPEEDwithJJ macrumors 65816

    SPEEDwithJJ

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #7
  8. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #9
    Well there you go, you just answered your own question. You have a 2.2ghz processor, and there is nothing wrong with your computer.
     
  9. Narse77 macrumors regular

    Narse77

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #10
    You have the correct CPU. Windows reports the speed the CPU speed are running at the time you look and CPUs from both Intel and AMD have clocked themselves to slower speeds to use less power when its not needed. Its a waste of battery and power to have the CPU running full speed all the time so the CPU will throttle itself to how much it is being used. So if you fire up something that uses 100% of the CPU you will see the correct speeds, perhaps faster than 2.2 ghz as i7 supports turbo mode which will allow the CPU to run faster than rated for some tasks.
     
  10. AbyssImpact thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #11
    Lol I swear to god I saw 2.0 ghz processor yesterday. Thanks guys for all your help.
     

Share This Page