My new scanner isn't letting me scan with Photoshop CS..

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by omgwut, Dec 2, 2007.

  1. omgwut macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #1
    Hey there, I hope someone can help me out with this. I just bought a new Canon LiDE 600F flatbed scanner and have set it up and installed the driver disc. I want to be able to import documents and photos directly from the scanner into Photoshop CS, however when I select "File>Import>CanoScan LiDE 600F...", instead of taking me to the default Photoshop scanner preview window it opens up the crappy "ScanGear" from-the-disc software, which I don't want.

    How can I fix this? Thanks alot!
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    What you are seeing is not fixable. The LiDE 600F is a TWAIN scanner. ScanGear is Canon's TWAIN plug-in. Use Image Capture to scan your images and then open them in Photoshop CS for editing.
     
  3. omgwut thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #3
    Really? I thought Photoshop had its own scanner preview window.

    Thank you, I will try that instead.
     
  4. LosAngeles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #4
    HP scanner not working in Image Capture

    Hey-i see that a workaround to Photoshop not seeing a scanner is to use Image Capture. However, when I open image capture (with the scanner connected via USB) it just pops up a one line dialogue box "No image Capture Device Connected"
    what do I do?

    Ultimately, I want to get a good Advanced scan with my HP Photosmart c4250.
     
  5. profinite macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #5
    This has been the most useful scanner hint in years for me.

    I have an Epson Perfection 3170 Photo with a document feeder. On a G5 Tower (PPC), I managed to use a Twain driver with Photoshop CS4 and did direct scan from within Photoshop. But, when I moved to a Mac Pro (Intel) and Photoshop CS5, I was aware that the days of Twain were over.

    Without realizing that Apple has given me a free scanning utility, I searched high and low. But, the only scanning utility I could find was VueScan. It is not a bad application. Yet, I continued to search for another scanning utility.

    Then, today, I read the above post and finally realized that Image Capture is a scanning utility. For a long time, I may have mistakingly assumed that Image Capture was a screen capture utility. Was I totally wrong!

    Thank you for the eye-opening hint! :)
     

Share This Page