My new website created with iWeb, how can I monitor the traffic?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by highjumppudding, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. highjumppudding macrumors 6502

    highjumppudding

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #1
    Please visit my new website that I created with iWeb, www.MacAppTraining.com

    I was curious if anyone out there has a solid method of monitoring the traffic, activity, hits to the website?

    I created the website of course with iWeb, and I am publishing with MobileMe. GoDaddy.com is my domain registrar. I have the domain set up to Forward (not masked) to my MobileMe URL: http://web.me.com/sprice25/Mac_App_Training/Home.html

    Any suggestions on monitoring the traffic of the website? Thanks!
     
  2. design-is macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
  3. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    I use AWStats, but there are a number of log analyzers. Setting them up have varying difficulties so look around for something you're comfortable with.
     
  4. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #4
    Sorry, had to Lol' at this:
    Website Design and Hosting by Steven Price Productions
     
  5. priller macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #5
  6. Giovannino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #6
  7. MojoWill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #7
    well i suppose he paid for the hosting?
     
  8. highjumppudding thread starter macrumors 6502

    highjumppudding

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #8
    i have been using statcounter, cq counter, and one stat.

    each returns mixed numbers... i don't know which has the correct info for any of the categories that are tracked.

    is there a way to integrate any of these or other services that will work exceptionally well (free or paid) without externally modifying the raw html code?

    I am publishing directly to MobileMe with iWeb.
     
  9. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #9
    When running multiple log analyzers make sure only one archives or use an external archiver that runs after the analyzers. This might explain why they don't synchronize assuming a proper setup of each.

    We use AW Stats at work and I have Webalizer on my personal VPS, both are suggested as quality stats generators and both have been around for a long time, well supported and little technical issues.

    -jim
     
  10. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #10
    Mojo, no - it was the fact that when you load the site, the domain seems to only forward to his .mac/mobileme site. IS it possible to get DNS settings for mobile me? This would make your site [domain] look more professional, SPrice.
     
  11. Giovannino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #11
    Of course it is possible to use CNAME which indeed looks more professional.
    However you can only have one personal domain using CNAME per account (or in Family accounts subaccount). Hence if you have multiple websites published to the same account (or subaccount) only one can use CNAME and the other have to use WebForward or WebForward with cloaking/masking.

    He has at least two websites published to the same account so maybe he's using CNAME already for another site.

    Info on how to set up your personal domain to use CNAME here:
    http://iwebfaq.org/site/iWeb_Domains.html

    (If you have multiple websites you use for business I'd recommend to use a Family account to use CNAME for all of them)
     
  12. Mitou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #12
    This is a nice iweb site that is certainly not gaining by having the mobile me in the address it takes away from the professional look that he want to accomplish. I think it would be worth the cost of taking a family pack to get 4 more cnames.
     
  13. highjumppudding thread starter macrumors 6502

    highjumppudding

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #13
    so i'll take the advice of setting up the personal domain for the www.macapptraining.com website.

    i have it set up now as a standard forward because I had issues with a "masked" forward that I had set on my other website that I advertised on macrumors.com for wwdc.

    since then i am now on godaddy (from yahoo) and plan to avoid masked forwarding due to iframe issues and the website not being able to load.

    i'll set up the personal domain.

    any suggestions as to renaming my "site" name in iweb after I set up the personal domain? because right now the site name is Mac App Training. Therefore when I set up the Personal Domain the website link will show as www.macapptraining.com/Mac_App_Training/Home.html. Any suggestions?

    Do others agree that a "Masked" Forward with GoDaddy is a bad idea for running a business site?
     
  14. Mitou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #14
    I would think that masked forwarding is the absolute worth solution for a business site. first because search engine do not like them, and secondly because you cannot bookmark an individual page. any bookmark always brings you back to the homepage.
    Best of luck
     
  15. Giovannino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #15
    I completely agree with Mitou.

    As for the site name in iWeb I would choose the default name which is "site"

    yourdomain.com/site/pagename.html
     
  16. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #16
    Well it won't matter, because your domain will screen this.
     
  17. Giovannino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #17
    No, it won't.

    Using a personal domain replaces web.me.com/username/ with your personal domain. The site name will still appear.
    yourdomain.com/sitename/pagename.html
     
  18. highjumppudding thread starter macrumors 6502

    highjumppudding

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #18
    so the cname is set up. now my website shows like this in the address bar:
    http://www.macapptraining.com/Mac_App_Training/Home.html

    Any suggestions on the iweb site name? right now my site name is duplicated because of the personal domain (http://www.macapptraining.com/Mac_App_Training/Home.html).

    - Should I leave it as is?
    - Should I change the site name to "Site" so then it is www.macapptraining.com/Site/Home.html?
    - Should I change the site name to a "/" so it's www.macapptraining.com//Home.html?
    - Should I change the site name to "MAT" so it's www.macapptraining.com/MAT/Home.html?

    Thanks for the suggestions and help.
     

Share This Page