My number shows up as "Unknown" when i call anyone..

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Nabooly, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. Nabooly macrumors 6502a

    Nabooly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #1
    hmm im really confused! Just started happening last night. Whoever I call my number comes up as unknown on their phone.
    I have a Verizon iphone 4. Any help is much appreciated. :)

    Edit: and theres no settings under "phone" for caller ID.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Call Verizon ... they should be able to help.
     
  3. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #3
    If you manage your Verizon account online, there's an area where you can set what name is sent when you call someone. Mine orig said "Wireless Caller", but I switched it to my name.
     
  4. Nabooly thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nabooly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #4
    I saw that but it says that it'll give my name to everyone even if they dont have my number :confused:
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Yeah, it will. That option is the name the system will display to people you call.
     
  6. DocNYz macrumors 6502a

    DocNYz

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    #6
    One of my friends actually had this happen with att but after like half an hour or so on the phone with customer service they fixed it, so I'd at least give calling Verizon a shot ...
     
  7. ET iPhone Home macrumors 68030

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #7
    I just did this with Sprint online under "My Account". Sprint gives you two options, either your full name (default) or a company name / or your first name only / or a nic name.

    Very Cool. I have two phones (family shared plan) under one account. It always registers my name for both phones on the caller i.d. It says, it will take 3 hrs to register, so I hope, when I wake up tomorrow, it will work. I had them change this at the Sprint Store when I upgraded to the 4S on two occasions. It's strange how my full name still appeared for both lines. Now, it shows the revised.
     

Share This Page