My thoughts on the 2016 ntb 13" MBP after 1 month of abuse

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Decky, Jan 20, 2017.

1. Decky macrumors newbie

Decky

So I bought the ntb 13" MBP base model (hereafter referred to as the MBP) and have used to extensively and will be sharing my thoughts on it here because I've benefited extensively from user reviews from these forums in the past. Let me know if there are any questions!

For context, I've used the Surfacebook(SB) with the dGPU and the 2016 12" MacBook(MB) and have sold/returned them in the past and prior to that I owned a 2012/13 13" MBA.

Use case: I went to Iceland for an 8 day trip in the winter with the MBP with me wherever I went and had to complete a dissertation throughout the month+ that I owned it for. I am a photographer + trying to learn video work (my gear: 5d MkIII with Magic Lantern installed) and I am an avid fan of MOBAs and competitive games (3.5k MMR scrub in Dota 2 and I do play some Overwatch with friends). To me, the perfect laptop would be one that is portable enough yet powerful enough.

Form factor: It feels very well built and I prefer this over the SB's build ANY day (despite being a microsoft user for most of my life). Although it is only 400g heavier than the MB, I would argue that the difference is quite significant especially in terms of thickness. The MBP only slightly reminded me of the old MBA, which was the best form factor IMO but that it has a uniform thickness makes it feel slightly less portable but its not a big deal. Back to the comparison to the MB: I initially thought that 400g wouldn't feel like much, especially since I go to the gym often and am specifically doing a strength routine, but I was wrong. I was alot more comfortable taking out my MB when at lectures/different rooms etc. but alot less with the MBP. I think this has alot to do with the thickness and form factor rather than just mere weight.