Navigon says my house is in a "restricted area"

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by psywzrd, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #1
    Has anyone had Navigon tell them that their destination (in this case, my house) is in a restricted area? I have no idea what that means (couldn't find an explanation on Navigon's website). It's not a huge deal because it will still guide me home, but I find it annoying that it tells me my house is in a restricted area.
     
  2. Catch-22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    It probably means that the FBI are coming for you.
     
  3. MacToddB macrumors 6502a

    MacToddB

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #3
    You in District 9? Area 51?

    Seriously, it's probably a subdivision that doesn't have true city/county/state roads. Like a private townhouse complex. It's like those folks who have revolted against Google's StreetView cars and won't let them take pictures on their streets.
     
  4. Surrix macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #4
    Interesting, mine says it too, and the road is definitely just a regular public road.
     
  5. iPhoneVic macrumors regular

    iPhoneVic

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
  6. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #6
    It's just how the road is classified in Navteq road atlas.

    Any other GPS that uses Navteq (Garmin, etc) would show something similar.

    If you go into route settings on the Navigon you will see that it will mark "pedestrian only" routes as "restricted". Turn that off and see if the location still shows restricted.
     
  7. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #7
    Jailbroken iPhone + free hacked copy of Navigon = Area 51
     
  8. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #8
    Just tried that - still saying Restricted Area. I guess I'll have to just live with it or pick another "home" destination nearby that doesn't come up as restricted.
     
  9. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #9
    Grab the GPS coordinates for your home, and email Navigon about it. See if they can fix the "restricted" thing on a future update, assuming that it's not the Navteq data that's bonkered.
     
  10. sl1200mk2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #10
    I could be wrong, but I think this is because you have the route options set to avoid residential streets? I just got Navigon and I noticed this too, but haven't had a chance to turn the option off and try.
     
  11. WishIWasHere macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #11
    I had it tell me the same thing when I was testing it out and set a route to go to the mall earlier today. I don't have it set up to avoid anything either, and the mall is on a heavily traveled road in my city. All it did was give me the warning before navigation started, and that was it. No big deal, just a little strange.
     
  12. Mac N Tosh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    SouthShore
    #12

    The BlackHawks are circling....:p
     
  13. str1f3 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
  14. sinsin07 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
  15. aawil macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #15
    Playing around with Navigon today I set it for my local mall which according to Navigon is in a restricted area.:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page