Need 5.8GB of free space to install iOS 8. What?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by TheSandman2236, Sep 17, 2014.

  1. TheSandman2236 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
  2. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle Great Park, England.
    #2
    It's always been the case. It's for installation. You will regain the space after.

    Update using iTunes if you haven't got enough.
     
  3. SetHutBlue42 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
  4. L-Tuned macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    #4
    4.7GB needed here. Try to update with iTunes.
     
  5. lambertjohn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #5
    The download message on my iPhone 5 said I needed 4.6 GB of space. It must be different for different models of iPhone.
     
  6. bryanescuela Suspended

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    #6
    Re:

    Typical newbie answer...
     
  7. DaBlackMamba macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
  8. Mike07335i macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #8
    5.8G needed for me.. Don't have enough space to go over the air.

    Mike
     
  9. GALAGA macrumors member

    GALAGA

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Location:
    vegas
    #9
    3 hours update?

    3 hours update? or is it just me?:(
     
  10. iPhoney Baloney macrumors member

    iPhoney Baloney

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
  11. ORK8 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #11
    Going from memory here, so bear with me. Connect your phone to iTunes. When it launches, go the page you'd use to sync. Somewhere at the top it will show your current iOS. Just below that you'll see check for updates. Follow the instructions from there.
     
  12. TheSandman2236 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #12
    Updated through iTunes -- did a restore (erase all settings) and then did a restore from back up through iCloud.
     
  13. lke macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #13
    If I want to update ios 8 thru my iphone it needs 6.8GB, but right now I am updating it thru itunes without issues.

    I have only 1.5GB of free space.
     
  14. BulkHedd macrumors 6502

    BulkHedd

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #14
    I had a problem with this. I knew about the space requirements so I made sure I had just over 5GB free before starting the OTA update.

    The download was going extremely slowly. After 2.5 hours I finally got an update error because I didn't have enough free space!! It said I needed 4.7GB free!! I checked my stats and I only had about 3.5GB free!

    I deleted some more stuff and stupidly started the download again. I feel like I should wait until I get home so I can use iTunes but there doesn't seem to be any way to stop this download.
     
  15. Ungibbed macrumors 6502

    Ungibbed

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    Upgraded my iPhone 5 OTA and also needed 4.7 GB. Despite having a 100 Megabit connection, it was the longest and also largest update I've ever seen.

    Despite that, the upgrades all seemed to work and no lost data aside from the room I had to make by deleting a few things that were in need of an update anyway. The music I had was in dire need of a refresh.

    The only thing I can't find is how to enable Wi-Fi calling on T-Mobile. Had this iPhone 5 ever since launch and the same SIM module that shipped with the phone. Before on a previous Android based phone, I needed a new "GBA" SIM card to use Wi-Fi calling.

    I would imagine the SIM shipped with the iPhone 5 should work but the other thing, anyone able to make a call over LTE yet?
     
  16. iPhoney Baloney macrumors member

    iPhoney Baloney

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #16
    Thank you.
     
  17. Subu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #17
    Hi Thanks for that tip

    I tried that, but for some reason the update times out

    Is it just rush at the gate ? meaning apple servers ? or ?

    I've described my problems in detail here

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=19839300#post19839300


    thanks in adv
    regards

    Subu
     

Share This Page